Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! Even my extremely picky kids loved them and asked for seconds. I didn't have celery so I had to exclude that part of the recipe but it didn't seem to make a difference in the taste. It was definitely easy to make. Also I used canned chicken...it probably would have been better if I used a chicken breast but I used what I had! All in all this was a great recipe and will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakernotchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I grew up on boxed Weaver's Chicken Croquettes, but can not find them anymore. My kids had never had them so I decided to try this recipe, and they turned out so much better than the store bought. I used butter in place of the shortening, just because I never use shortening. I served it with mashed potatoes and it truly did take me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My family thought the poultry seasoning was a little too much. I will make these again, (actually, my eight-year-old cooked tonight; he's a good cook) but will cut the poultry seasoning and maybe leave it out of the gravy all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I went to the store last week in search of the old Weaver frozen chicken croquettes after my husband and I got a craving for them, but found out they are no longer made. I immediately searched online and found this recipe. We tried them today and everyone LOVED them, including my 7 and 10 year old! I did saute the onions and celery with some sazon and put those along w/ the chicken and 2 bouillon cubes into the food processor before adding the soup. I also coated them before refrigerator and dredged in egg whites and coated again before frying. They still fell apart when flipping. That's the reason for the 4 stars. We baked 2 of them to see the taste difference & to lighten them up. While the 2 baked ones only had one coat of breadcrumbs the coating was a little "gummy." Still very good and I will continue to tweak this until we get it just right! Overall, I'd definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are very easy to make and good. Will make them again. I used turkey that I had leftover from my Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made with left over thanksgiving turkey ( chopped with food processor) next time I will 86 the celery, it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This has to be the best chicken croquette recipe I have ever tried. The fact that you can make them the same day as you make them instead of putting them in the fridge overnight makes it a lot better. I would recommend this recipe to all my friends. Today I made them with leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and simple recipe. I will be making it a lot since I have plenty of leftover turkey. The only thing I changed was to use cream of mushroom soup since it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is the good and quick way, but it's better if you make your own chicken cream sauce and use oven roasted chicken breasts seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, nutmeg, then when the skin is crisped up, you eat it before you cut the chicken breasts up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In Holland where I was born, Croquettes were a common thing to enjoy. Adding soup, or gravy to the mix adds a lot of flavour--we also add all sorts of chopped veggies from onions to carrots and red bell peppers, which we pre-cook a bit before adding them. You can make them using any type of left over meat even ham, roast pork etc. and make veggie versions too! We also deep fry them and double bread them using a egg/milk mixture. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Methatswho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States