Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The favorite soup in our house and very similar to Lelli's which is great because it's expensive there and I'm always left wanting more. I omit the butter and throw the onions in with the veggies. I use frozen veggies and half the amount of fat free !/2 &1/2. Pureeing the veggies is the key to this soup. No need to cook it so long - I do the whole thing in 30 min. Keeps well and always disappears within 3 days. A sure crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Your recipe is wonderful. I did make a few changes as others, used less butter, added garlic to the onions and used frozen veggies (can't eat a vegetables from a can.) Really enjoyed NOT having to spend a half hour chopping veggies. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I am familiar with Lelli's restaurant - and their minnestrone is VERY good. This recipe was great & very similar - my relatives thought it was even better! I added 3 cloves of garlic to the sauteed onions and added white northern beans instead of garbonzos. Also used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned. Used only 2 cups of cream - that seemed to be plenty. This recipe does make a LOT; however, I froze half and will get two meals from the batch. Blending the veggies is key. Very, very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as shown, only I used half and half instead of cream. I admit the amount of garlic powder scared me, but it was just right. Also only made half of the entire recipe. Filled up my dutch oven. Very tasty, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this soup at work for 120 people, the talked about it for weeks after the event, i have ahd MANY people since ask me to remake this soup again It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Being from Detroit I LOVE lellis soup and was online looking for a knock off. Ron, you did fantastic. Whenever I make this for people they ask for the recipe. My son LOVES it. (Although I have to puree the entire thing to hide the beans..and omit chickpeas) Just a tip for people.... If you puree the whole thing...boil the noodles separately and throw them in at the end. I use ditalini ( small) pasta, and I use whole milk instead of cream. Ive tried half and half too, but once you puree it you don't lose the creaminess factor. I leave it in my bug soup pot and use my immersion blender , I used to use the blender.. no more. Whole milk works wonderfully. Thanks Ron. I miss being in the D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Alot of ingredients, but well worth the trouble. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this recipe is excellent! the only changes i made was 1/2 the amount of butter, added more salt, and only 3/4 cup of heavy cream. i cannot imagine why you would need 4 cups of heavy cream, its not necessary , i swear! it is still very rich and satisfying. it is so delicious!!! definitely will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I don't even like Minestrone Soup and I gobble this up everytime my boss brings it into the office!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States