Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This is a very good minestrone soup. It is a little unusual to add cream (I think) but it was very, very good. I made it up to the puree step the night before. It was very tasty after the puree and I had not added any seasonings yet! It does make a lot so I froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I was looking for a recipe to mimic Columbo Italia in Mt. Clemens, and this one does it - must be a MI thing :) Great flavor, and very easy to make. The recipe was asked for after the first bite. Definately will go as one of my family "staples".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a fabulous, fabulous recipe!!! Ron's not kidding when he says to use a big pot and that it will feed an army--you need a BIG stockpot. It says 12 servings--but my ladle holds about a cup, and my bowls hold two ladles-ful. I think we can get about 18 bowls out of this recipe, estimating. I make it for dinner, then we have lunches out of it for several days, plus dinner the second night, and we have a family of 5 (and four of us are male). One important adjustment I made--I use half and half instead of the cream. It's perfect like that, IMHO--I've made it twice and have never used the cream. Even with the decreased fat, it's very rich and can cause some digestive issues, if you know what I mean, so I know I could never use the cream in it (plus, you'll save about $2 with the price difference between a quart of cream and a quart of half and half!). I also don't use 8 tablespoons of butter to saute the onions--3 is sufficient and takes a big bite out of the calorie and fat content. You won't miss it. Thank you, Ron!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I am a Detroiter and LOVE Lelli's minestrone soup!!! We go to Lelli's in Auburn Hills every year for mother's day and for other special occassions. We used to go to the one in Detroit, but that one burned down (or something arsen related) many years ago. I have to agree that your soup is very very similar to Lelli's. I did not make it with the elbow pasta and so I only put in 1 cup of heavy cream!!! I do have to admit that I threw out the first batch I made because the Fat Free Half & Half I tried to substitute for the heavy cream was just horrible!!! The second batch I made with the heavy cream was perfect!!! Thanks for giving me a new recipe I will make over and over again! Hubby loved it too, he said he was looking forward all morning to coming home for lunch and eating more of this delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this soup. Many in the home and offices did as well. I followed exact and get ready because it does make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERS1104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Excellent, thick and makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, New York, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
THIS IS THE RECIPE THAT MADE ME JOIN THIS SITE......MY MOTHER IN LAW MADE IT FOR 50 FRIENDS & FAMILY MEMBERS, AND WE ALL LOVED IT! ~JOI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
All of the rave reviews for this recipe are true!! I increased the tomato paste from 2 T to 6ozs (one small can), used half and half instead of the heavy cream and I added already cooked frozen shrimp which was the "icing on the cake"! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this soup for our Italian themed Christmas office party. Everyone loved it. This recipe was enough for about 30 guests to each have a cup of the soup. I added red pepper flakes because we like things spicy in South Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Made this for our church group. Everyone loved it. I used half & half at the end in place of the heavy cream 'cuz I was scared it would be too creamy. Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States