Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This is a very good minestrone soup. It is a little unusual to add cream (I think) but it was very, very good. I made it up to the puree step the night before. It was very tasty after the puree and I had not added any seasonings yet! It does make a lot so I froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I was looking for a recipe to mimic Columbo Italia in Mt. Clemens, and this one does it - must be a MI thing :) Great flavor, and very easy to make. The recipe was asked for after the first bite. Definately will go as one of my family "staples".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
i used this recipe as i needed alot of soup and something abit different for my sons granparents day lunch and this recipe fit all my needs and was loved by all and there was plenty for seconds and even thirds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beveridge, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a fabulous, fabulous recipe!!! Ron's not kidding when he says to use a big pot and that it will feed an army--you need a BIG stockpot. It says 12 servings--but my ladle holds about a cup, and my bowls hold two ladles-ful. I think we can get about 18 bowls out of this recipe, estimating. I make it for dinner, then we have lunches out of it for several days, plus dinner the second night, and we have a family of 5 (and four of us are male). One important adjustment I made--I use half and half instead of the cream. It's perfect like that, IMHO--I've made it twice and have never used the cream. Even with the decreased fat, it's very rich and can cause some digestive issues, if you know what I mean, so I know I could never use the cream in it (plus, you'll save about $2 with the price difference between a quart of cream and a quart of half and half!). I also don't use 8 tablespoons of butter to saute the onions--3 is sufficient and takes a big bite out of the calorie and fat content. You won't miss it. Thank you, Ron!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I am a Detroiter and LOVE Lelli's minestrone soup!!! We go to Lelli's in Auburn Hills every year for mother's day and for other special occassions. We used to go to the one in Detroit, but that one burned down (or something arsen related) many years ago. I have to agree that your soup is very very similar to Lelli's. I did not make it with the elbow pasta and so I only put in 1 cup of heavy cream!!! I do have to admit that I threw out the first batch I made because the Fat Free Half & Half I tried to substitute for the heavy cream was just horrible!!! The second batch I made with the heavy cream was perfect!!! Thanks for giving me a new recipe I will make over and over again! Hubby loved it too, he said he was looking forward all morning to coming home for lunch and eating more of this delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Recipe was too much! IN EVERY WAY! Must also be "a Michigan thing". This recipe makes enough for an army and has enough calories for one too! It's a great compliment to a sedentary lifestyle...get healthy Michigan...check out Jamie's Minestrone-healthy and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I LOVED this soup!! I only had beef stock on hand and used that instead, and halved the recipe, and it still filled up my large dutch oven pot!! I tried this before adding the cream,(half and half), and it was very tasty without it, as well! The flavours are NOT oustanding until the next day. Hubby said the first day it tasted like just cream, but the second day, WOW!! Added fresh basil at the end for a lovely flavor, and also a titch of sugar(oops). I just prefer my tomato base recipes to have a touch of sweetness. I also think when you use that much cream in this soup, the tomato paste needs to be bumped up a bit, as I found myself adding about 1/4 cup. So in light of my few minor changes, I can only give this 4 stars, as I tweaked a bit for my own personal preference. I HATE it when people change the whole thing and then still only give a 2 or 3 star rating, or tweak it so it is nowhere NEAR the original and then give it 5!!! As this recipe stands, it is truly a 4 star!! Thank you for a lovely soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I always try new recipes on groups of friends! They loved it!!! I didn't blend the veggies, cause we like'em chunky!! It was a real Hit!! The flavor throughout and the heartyness was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIRPAG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this soup. Many in the home and offices did as well. I followed exact and get ready because it does make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERS1104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Excellent, thick and makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, New York, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States