Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
i only replaced white beans for kidney and tossed in the ham bone from last night. everything else is as directed. it is colorful, fragrant, and tastes great. I did sub 1/2 n 1/2 for the cream. just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My dad used to take us to Lelis resturant in Detroit and I remember this soup well. I made it today and it brought back wonderful memories. I would not change a thing int he recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have made this several times now, and love it each time I make it. I slim it down with fat free half and half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Every year at my family's pre Christmas gathering we all make a soup and bread to share. This has be come the absolute favorite of all 50-60 of us! I love that it's easy and feeds a crowd. I sometimes add the whole little can of tomato paste and more garlic. But it is amazing just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was good - made a bit too much, more than only me and my husband could eat....took for lunches and ate for dinner, but got a bit tired of it after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this the exact way shown. very good, lots going in the freezer for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Terrific recipe! Based on what I had in the house I made the following changes. Instead of canned mixed vegetables I used golden beets, broccoli and baby carrots. I also used unsweetened coconut milk (the kind sold in 1/2 gallon containers meant for drinking) instead of the heavy cream which worked VERY well. For the pasta I used orzo. Thanks for posting this unique twist on a timeless classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
It was GREAT! My Notes: -I did 8 servings not 12. But it saves really well so you can do as much as you want. -I subbed the cans of mixed veggies for 1 cup of chopped carrots and a 1 cup of chopped celery. (with this soup you dont have to be exact with measurements) -I split the kidney beans... white and red. -I used fresh tomatoes... not canned (4 of them) -I used fresh garlic instead of powder. (same measurements) -I used Fresh Basil and Parsley not dried. (same measurements) -And instead of Fatty Heavy Cream I just added more Chicken broth. I was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This soup is AWESOME. I was a little nervous about a "creamy" Minestrone soup, but I am so glad I tried it! The family went crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States