Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I left out most of the spices and added frozen pierogies cut in half. It turned into a cream of potato pierogi soup. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
it made everyone in the house enjoyed quality food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aldane simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made 8 qts. yesterday for a family meal of 10. I was lucky to be able to bring some left overs home for my lunch today. Everyone enjoyed the soup and of course asked for recipe. Only thing I added, after soup cooked for all flavors to work, was pepper. For some reason pepper just makes soups snap. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mirandy
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I am not the best cook and I found this fairly easy. I made a double batch and added bacon because the family thinks its not a meal with out it. I did cut the potatos too big and had to fish them out with a spoon and cut them smaller and cook it some more. We will enjoy the soup tonight and tomorrow on our ski trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Ok I loved this receipt! I love making soup but it was my first go at a creamed soup. I just about tripled the receipt and made a few of my own adjustments but the main idea fave me a great base to get started. I used half cream and half while milk, corn starch vs flour, added a frozen bag of broccoli, can of corn, one can of chicken breast (hubby likes meat in everything) added about one cup of some fancy white cheese blocks left over from Thanksgiving, and added sea salt and pepper. I did not have wine or mustard salt. This is amazing!!!! Still cooking but great flavor. You can really add just about any veggie! I also used real butter (1 1/2 sticks). Not the lowest fat soup but cream soup is supposed to be rich and thick. Thx Kevin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Wonderful comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
OMG----followed recipe....but took other reviews suggestion of not putting so much potatoes. I left one out. This is amazing, Next time, I am going to add a can of clams....It's almost like a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
The flavor of this soup is excellent but it is way too thick as written in the recipe. I had to add 3 cups more milk to keep the liquid high enough to cook the potatoes and have any liquid left over for "soup". You don't need to use a "large stock pot" for the amount of liquid in the original recipe. Even after adding another 3 cups of mllk, my stock pot (8 quarts) was only about 1/3 full. After adding more milk, the soup was the perfect thickness for us and had excellent flavor. I substituted 3 tablespoons of olive oil for 3 tablespoons of the butter to cut back on the saturated fat. I doubt if this had any effect on the flavor of the soup and it makes it a bit healthier. I also substituted 1 1/2 cups water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes for the 1 1/2 cups chicken broth and 1/4 teaspoon chicken granules stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Excellent-I added one can of drained corn. Awesome recipe. Everyone loved it! I served with good crusty bread and butter and fruit salad. Delish. Also-quite economical and a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States