Best Cream Of Broccoli and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this as written. BLAND. Bland. I can't stress that enough. Once I messed with it a lot, it was okay. I noticed that, as usual, many of the positive reviews changed the recipe a lot. This is not helpful. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have some issues with recipes as written. 8-10 mins is way too long to sauté onions, but more importantly you never cook garlic as long as onions, or garlic turns bitter. Garlic only needs about 2-3 minutes. I added shredded carrots and sautéed celery with onions. Much needed flavor. Other than that this is a decent base recipe. I always use instant potato flakes to thicken gravies and cream based soups. Healthier, gluten, free and simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great soup. Nice and thick. Added a couple of cups of shredded cheddar to the milk and cream mixture. How can you go wrong with broccoli and cheese! Yum!just made it again. This time I added a couple of cups of diced cooked ham. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I just made this but added a little blue cheese and some cheddar and it was amazing! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I wasn't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I tried it like the recipe says the first time and it got 5 stars, but the second time I shredded two potatoes, left out the whipping cream and changed the milk to evaporated milk. I left the garlic out and I added some tiny bits of steamed broccoli to the soup after it was done. I'm cooking for the really elderly and they gave it five stars, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this for my 90 year old mom because she likes cream of broccoli soup. I always said "I don't care for creamed soups" but this one has changed that statement. I really enjoyed this soup and my mom loved it! So glad I tried it, now I have another great soup to add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Ok, a lot of work but tasty with asiago cheese added and dill, basic weeknight recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is excellent. I added 1chopped carrot and 1 stalk chopped celery with butter. Also added a handful of shredded cheddar at the end. I mashed it in the pot with a hand masher as we like pieces in our soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So good! I usually like cheese in my broccoli soup.. But it's not needed in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States