Best Cream Of Broccoli and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this soup mostly to directions. I added a 2nd potato cut into very small cubes and steamed. Left some of the broccoli on the side to.add later along with the steamed potato; this added a heartiness that a completely pureed soup lacks. Other than that, everything else was to recipe and this is definitely a keeper! Very tasty and rich. Will be making this often in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was pretty good, I did use half and half what I had and it did come out nice and creamy, very filling so I had it as dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This soup is delicious and easy to make. Put a bowl of shredded cheddar on the table to sprinkle on top. I cooked the flour in the butter for 1 or 2 minutes to ensure there was no floury taste to the thickening mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I am not a great cook and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out wonderfully! Probably the best broccoli soup I've tasted! Thank you! Changes I made: I removed the broccoli and potatoes after step 2 and ran them through the food processor to chop, did not completely puree. I used half and half because that's what I had in the fridge. Added a cup or so of shredded cheddar cheese at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
When the hubby says mmmm with every bite, I know it is fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Turned out great even with these changes: halved the onion qty and doubled the garlic qty; only used one tiny potato, but added few stalks of celery (added crunch!); used my own veggie stock from prev. cooked collard greens; didn't have milk so used water to soften the roux; only used half cup of whipping cream; then topped with red pepper flakes...yummy! I think my hubby will add shredded cheese. thx, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have some issues with recipes as written. 8-10 mins is way too long to sauté onions, but more importantly you never cook garlic as long as onions, or garlic turns bitter. Garlic only needs about 2-3 minutes. I added shredded carrots and sautéed celery with onions. Much needed flavor. Other than that this is a decent base recipe. I always use instant potato flakes to thicken gravies and cream based soups. Healthier, gluten, free and simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious just as written!! I don't feel like it's needs the whipping cream though, the flour mixture thickens up really nicely with just milk or light cream. I couldn't resist throwing some shredded cheddar into each bowl but it's not needed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is delicious! The only tweaks I made were to use an entire (4C) carton of chicken stock and since I was using frozen broccoli, I poured the entire bag in at once and simply simmered a little longer to soften before blending. I also couldn't resist adding a handful of shredded cheddar at the end. Great soup w/minimal effort! THANKS for the recipe, BRITTLEY47!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this for my 90 year old mom because she likes cream of broccoli soup. I always said "I don't care for creamed soups" but this one has changed that statement. I really enjoyed this soup and my mom loved it! So glad I tried it, now I have another great soup to add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States