Best Cream Of Broccoli and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this soup mostly to directions. I added a 2nd potato cut into very small cubes and steamed. Left some of the broccoli on the side to.add later along with the steamed potato; this added a heartiness that a completely pureed soup lacks. Other than that, everything else was to recipe and this is definitely a keeper! Very tasty and rich. Will be making this often in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was pretty good, I did use half and half what I had and it did come out nice and creamy, very filling so I had it as dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I am not a great cook and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out wonderfully! Probably the best broccoli soup I've tasted! Thank you! Changes I made: I removed the broccoli and potatoes after step 2 and ran them through the food processor to chop, did not completely puree. I used half and half because that's what I had in the fridge. Added a cup or so of shredded cheddar cheese at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Turned out great even with these changes: halved the onion qty and doubled the garlic qty; only used one tiny potato, but added few stalks of celery (added crunch!); used my own veggie stock from prev. cooked collard greens; didn't have milk so used water to soften the roux; only used half cup of whipping cream; then topped with red pepper flakes...yummy! I think my hubby will add shredded cheese. thx, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This soup is delicious and easy to make. Put a bowl of shredded cheddar on the table to sprinkle on top. I cooked the flour in the butter for 1 or 2 minutes to ensure there was no floury taste to the thickening mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is delicious! The only tweaks I made were to use an entire (4C) carton of chicken stock and since I was using frozen broccoli, I poured the entire bag in at once and simply simmered a little longer to soften before blending. I also couldn't resist adding a handful of shredded cheddar at the end. Great soup w/minimal effort! THANKS for the recipe, BRITTLEY47!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
When the hubby says mmmm with every bite, I know it is fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious just as written!! I don't feel like it's needs the whipping cream though, the flour mixture thickens up really nicely with just milk or light cream. I couldn't resist throwing some shredded cheddar into each bowl but it's not needed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
love it, made it in the crock pot so the cooking times for steps was different, so I cup half and half one cup soy milk for rue. truly a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The creamiest cream soup I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States