Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Best broccoli soup recipe EVER. Didnt change a thing from the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Purves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I read the reviews before making the soup and so added 3 stalks of celery and one potato to ensure a thicker consistency. I also added dry mustard powder and 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the finished product before serving to kick up the flavor a bit. I was pleasantly surprised with the result. I've added it to my recipe list and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I can't give this recipe the way it is 5 stars - had to make too many changes. Broccoli florets aren't very good when pureed - they end up being grainy. If you use only the broccoli stems, that's another story. The way I make this soup which is really delicious is to use both the florets and the stems - making sure to peel the stems. Chop everything into 1 inch pieces. After adding the broccoli to the sauteed veggies add 1/2 tsp of salt, some black pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper and a dash of ground cloves. Cook the broccoli for at least 20 minutes. If you live at high altitude, you may need to cook it longer, but you want the broccoli to be pretty soft. Let it cool a bit and then, like other people on this site, I mash the broccoli with a hand potato masher until it's broken up into small pieces. Then I cook up the roue with the milk and add it to the soup. Taste for flavor and add more salt if necessary. I learned that vegetables like spinach, celery and broccoli can use a bit of a lift from spices like cloves, and any soup is improved by a dash of cayenne or a bit of Tabasco sauce. This soup is just OK the way the recipe is written, but these changes make it delicious. If you're cooking gluten free, use white rice flour instead of wheat flour for the roue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I liked Ike (couldnt resist, tho he was b4 my time????) 's review and my curiosity got the better of mr! You can have it real smoothe like pea soup, you can have it textured, you can add spices and heat if you want to sear your tonsils, and you can make it with an undetectible tweak. My only tweak was: substitute one can of fat free evaporated milk for 12 oz (1&1/2 C) of the milk called for. I HAD to do that because I did'nt want the self appointed food police tearing my review apart. It also makes the roux w/butter slightly more acceptable to all the Carrie Nations out in the big brother/sister world. Did I like it??? As my mum used to say "Does a duck swim?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Healthy I use flax milk, No need for spices accept for pepper... Awesome!! This recipe can work for any greens, leek, super greens, carrots, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by packer1227
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe was perfect for someone just beginning to cook. As an avid gardener, I had a lot of frozen broccoli to use before the new crop comes in. Seeing how this one had 805 reviews there was no question on which to try. At the end I just felt there was something minor missing. What goes with cream of broccoli soup? Cheese! I added some grated cheddar and Turkey bacon crumbs and they were the missing ingredients for me anyway. My wife was thrilled to have a nice bowl of soup after a long and stressful day. Thanks to the submitter for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Absolutely loved it and so easy to make. I used fat free half&half in place of the milk for a richer flavor I added a little ground red pepper only because I like my foods a little spicy and a bit of nutmeg tuned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arliss Garris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
okay I followed this just like the directions, I didn't add onions, because I don't like them, I used onion powder instead. I cut the broccoli separate in my food chopper instead of using a blender. so I got some chunks in there, which I liked. the only thing I added was about a cup of mozzarella shredded cheese. it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My wife and I love broccoli so we're always looking for new recipes. This one worked very well and like most soup recipes is easily adjusted depending on the ingredients you've got in your larder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
No flavor, gritty texture, not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States