Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Yummy! My 3-year old gave it two thumbs up :) I replaced the milk with heavy cream and used a potato masher to mash the broccoli. I think it would have been a 6 star dish with some bacon. I would have tried it if I had had some in the house...next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I give the original recipe 4 stars. I give MY version 5 stars. Here's what I did: 1. I didn't have celery on hand, but I think it's a good idea. Instead I added about 3 cloves of garlic. (that's just a 'must-have' in a soup. sorry.) 2. My broccoli took 15 minutes to get tender. 3. Instead of blending all the soup, I blended HALF of it and left some broccoli so you can sink your teeth on something. ;) 3. I used 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of skim milk. (You can skip the cream altogether and use milk for it to be less fatty) 4. At the end, it seemed a little bit bland. So I added about a teaspoon of sea salt - in addition to the pepper to taste. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. (No, I'm not crazy.) It really added another dimension to the soup. It is a brilliantly easy recipe, but not as good as my version. ;) (at least to me.) Even the kids gobbled it up. O.O that's when you know a recipe is good - KIDS eating BROCCOLI?! Yup, this is a keeper. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I just made this soup for lunch...quick & tasty...I left the broccoli a bit chunky...my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I really liked this soup but I did not stick to their measurements........but used all ingredients except celery- really quite good- I cook a lot and usually change up the recipes....upon serving this I added crumbled crisp bacon and grated sharp cheddar to the top of each bowl....everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Amazing as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I added grated carrot and garlic to the roux. Then used half and half instead of milk. I,too, like chunky soup so I just mashed with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was a wonderfully tasty yet simple recipe. I added a bit of horseradish at the end for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I am not going to give it a rating because I changed a lot of things. (they are making me rate it to submit, I give myself 5 stars!! First, I added 3 whole cloves of garlic with celery, onion, butter mixture. Second, I added 1 good sized potato cut into 2 inch chunks Three, I added carrots (about 2 cups worth whole baby sized) Four, I used a whole head of broccoli. same amount of water/stock brought to a boil then dropped to a simmer till potatoes were done (about 30 mins) I did blend the soup in stages as I had left everything very, VERY chunky. For the roux, I doubled the butter and flour to 6T each as per another poster but used 2 cups of milk. Salt and peppered the veggies before mixing in my roux. It is going to be thick, like, wall paper paste thick, but I like it that way. HOLY COW! This is the BEST FREAKIN' SOUP EVAR! It reminds me of the cream of vegetable soup from A.O.C. L'aile ou la Cuisse in NYC's West Village on Bleecker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I was really excited to make this soup. My sister had an endoscopy on her throat today and I wanted to make something for her to eat that wouldn't hurt going down in case her throat was sore. She enjoyed it very much but I didn't. I will try it again though and give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I tweaked it like others and added garlic and carrot while I sautéed the celery and onion. I just think that's always a great base. I also mashed with a potato masher as suggested since I do like some chunks in my soup. Tonight, I wanted something a little cheesy so I added about a cup of cheddar to the roux before adding that to the soup. It's great! I love the versatility of either going creamy or cheesy! I will definitely make this again and depending on my mood - might leave out the cheese. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foleymk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States