Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My wife keeps asking me to make it again! Must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Not too complicated, perfect delicate flavors. Added this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Really perfect!!! I did one cup of cream the rest 2 percent. Wonderful!!! Took about 40 mins start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Prepared it for my mom who just had surgery and couldn't eat solid food and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this soup. I made some minor tweaks such as.... Add a few pieces of cauliflower. I steamed my broccoli & cauliflower while I saluted the other ingredients. This saved on time. I used 2 stalks of celery and a tsp of minced garlic. A dash of adobo. Once simmered added everything to my ninja blender. Puréed until smooth (personal preference). OMG!!! The blender gave the soup the creamy texture without the milk. Even so...I added 1/4 cup of light cream and 1/4 cup 1% milk and followed the remaining directions. Delicious perfection. Got the thumbs up from both of my kids (who don't do green ANYTHING). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made the recipe as posted, found it to be OK, tweaked it some and liked it a lot more. My variations: 1. Melt all 5 T butter called for, saute celery and onion, add flour, make a roux and cook gently till veggies are tender and the roux is light golden. (This step adds more work but takes away the flour taste other cooks noticed.) 2. Add broth and cook till thick. Then add broccoli and simmer till tender but not overdone. 3. Add milk and bring just to a simmer. Put 1/4 to 1/3 of soup through blender and return the blenderized soup to the remainder. This is for people who like creamy soups that are still chunky. 4. For spicier soup: add Spike, chili powder and/or garlic. 5. For richer soup: stir in 2 cups shredded cheese at the end. I usually use sharp cheddar. I have tried all these variations and usually use them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea_333

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm giving 5*...however, this is what I feel needs to be altered slightly; I don't use celery (personal preference) I do add a good pinch of oregano & marjoram and it's very important that if you want a good thick soup, make sure your broth doesn't cover the broccoli (just enough broth that the florets still poke out if perfect) also, I double the butter for the cream sauce and use heaping spoons for flour as I want a real rich & thick cream sauce. I add the cream sauce to the broccoli & broth when the broccoli is tender then use an immersion blender because I like the odd chunk. That's it! enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is the best basic soup for all kinds of vegetables, such as broccoli, asparagus, carrot, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States