Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Well....this is a prize winner recipe. I've made this many times and have tweeked it to perfection. Use BUTTER, not margarine. The onion should be Vadalia. It adds an exceptional flavor and a touch of sweetness to the soup. The original recipe says to use the florettes....nonsence...chop the stems and leaves and throw them in. It says to simmer 10 minutes, NOPE. It takes at least 20 minutes for the broccoli to become soft. DON'T use a hand mixer to smash the broccoli. Use a potato masher and don't go nuts mashing it. Larger pieces of broccoli really make this soup exceptional. If you use a blender or mixer, you'll have a bowl of druel. Try this...fry up a few pieces of bacon and crumble it in the soup. It adds another dimension to this recipe. Everyone loves this soup, including kids. PS...Use Oberweis SKIM MILK. You can't tell the difference from whole milk and you can save a bunch of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This recipe is great! I highly recommend it. We don't put it in the blender - just use a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1051 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
VERY easy to make, comes out GREAT exactly as directed, for the second time I made it I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 1/2 cups milk to get a richer taste. I highly recommend adding parmesan cheese to the top of the bowl when serving. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
687 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Excellent! I followed the recipe for the most part. I used 2 stalks chopped celery, 2 cans College Inn Chicken Broth, 1 Cup Milk, 1 Cup Heavy Cream. I also did not puree the broccoli. I like a chunky soup. For the roux I melted the butter and removed from heat. Then I measured the 3 Tbs. flour in a small bowl and added a little bit at a time of the milk/cream mixture and whisked it till smooth. Then I added it to the melted butter. Then added that to the soup. NO LUMPS! Served with Grated Cheddar Cheese and Warm French Bread. So good on a Hurricane Wilma night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe is perfectly titled; this soup is the bomb! Rather than puree, I followed another member's suggestion and just let the broth and broccoli boil down, but after 10 minutes, I took some of the broccoli out, so we could have some big pieces of it in the soup. I doubled the broth, because it does boil off quite a bit. What a keeper- this is my new broccoli soup, thanks!! (But just know that it doesn't smell so great while it's cooking, but it will taste good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This soup is wonderful. I made only minor adjustments to suit my tastes. I left out the celery and added fresh garlic, more onion and red pepper flakes. I also added a bit of cream cheese when I was blending the soup. I used half milk and half evaporated milk and added a pinch of nutmeg at the end. This is definitely going into the recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This was a great base to start w/but I tweaked it a bit b/c I'm vegetarian and wanted a Broccoli Cheese Soup. This will be my permanent recipe, b/c it was perfect. My changes: 1/2 lg red onion, 2 stalks celery, a few handfuls of baby carrots (chopped), 4c. Unchicken Broth, 2c. Low Sodium Vegetable Broth, 2.5 lbs of broccoli florets, 3 c. Rice Milk, 1 c. Fat Free Half and Half, 1 sprig fresh marjoram, 1/8 -1/4 of a block of fat free cream cheese (gave it more body) and a bit of light Velvetta. For the roux I used a butter, EVOO blend w/spelt flour, sea salt and white pepper. I found a huge bag of broccoli florets @ Sam's Club/Costco so that really helped things along. I prefer a chunkier soup so I just used my hand blender and blended half of the soup or so. The broccoli was really tender when all was said and done anyway. It was really very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I avoid making reviewing recipes that i have made changes to because i feel that it isn't really the recipe if i do that, however that being said, the only change i have ever made to this recipe is i a use a bag of frozen chopped brocoli i put the stems in before i puree and the floret bits in after, I like my soup a little chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central, South Carolina, USA
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I would give it 5, but I made adjustments. I added a clove of garlic to the onion/celery mix. I also added 1 shredded carrot to the broccoli. I used veg. base instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. Also, I added sharp cheddar to the milk rue. Much better than using Velveeta. It was very yummy and even my fussy 2 1/2 yr old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
wow! this was easy and great! Adding the touch of nutmeg like one reviewer suggested really did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States