Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made this recipe about 4 times now - so good! I do use only one pot though (mix the butter and flour into the onions after they're soft and let it "cook" for a little bit then add the broth and broccoli) and don't puree everything, just a couple cups to leave some chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Just made this tonight and it is really good; although I did tweet it a little sorry. I added two potatoes peeled and chopped into small junks with the broccoli just because I like this type of soup thicker. I also added a small handful of chopped cooked bacon and some cheddar cheese at the end after I had added the milk mixture. Used a potato masher instead of a blender to keep some of the chuckiness of the soup. Will be making again thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My wife keeps asking me to make it again! Must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Not too complicated, perfect delicate flavors. Added this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Really perfect!!! I did one cup of cream the rest 2 percent. Wonderful!!! Took about 40 mins start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Prepared it for my mom who just had surgery and couldn't eat solid food and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this soup. I made some minor tweaks such as.... Add a few pieces of cauliflower. I steamed my broccoli & cauliflower while I saluted the other ingredients. This saved on time. I used 2 stalks of celery and a tsp of minced garlic. A dash of adobo. Once simmered added everything to my ninja blender. Puréed until smooth (personal preference). OMG!!! The blender gave the soup the creamy texture without the milk. Even so...I added 1/4 cup of light cream and 1/4 cup 1% milk and followed the remaining directions. Delicious perfection. Got the thumbs up from both of my kids (who don't do green ANYTHING). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made the recipe as posted, found it to be OK, tweaked it some and liked it a lot more. My variations: 1. Melt all 5 T butter called for, saute celery and onion, add flour, make a roux and cook gently till veggies are tender and the roux is light golden. (This step adds more work but takes away the flour taste other cooks noticed.) 2. Add broth and cook till thick. Then add broccoli and simmer till tender but not overdone. 3. Add milk and bring just to a simmer. Put 1/4 to 1/3 of soup through blender and return the blenderized soup to the remainder. This is for people who like creamy soups that are still chunky. 4. For spicier soup: add Spike, chili powder and/or garlic. 5. For richer soup: stir in 2 cups shredded cheese at the end. I usually use sharp cheddar. I have tried all these variations and usually use them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea_333

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States