Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made this almost as written and it was so easy and GOOD! Broccoli was from my garden - I used stalks and (some) leaves and it was great. I had a little leftover heavy cream so I used about 1/3 cream, 2/3 1% milk. All 1% would have been fine. Added sauteed garlic too but couldn't tell whether that made any difference. Also took out some of the broccoli after a few seconds of stick blending and added it back at the end to make it chunkier. Cooked it for closer to 30 minutes (probably needed to because of all the stalks in there). I needed to add some water at the end - it was very thick - but maybe I used a bit too much broccoli. I'm not used to making a roux so I was very careful to stir it like crazy and it never lumped up. We had some shredded cheese - the kind we use on chili - and plopped that on top which was a nice addition but not crucial. This was a real winner! And it's healthy and can be vegetarian. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Wonderful recipe. I had to tweak simply because I didn't have celery on hand and wanted to add just a touch more flavour. I used broccoli and onions from my garden, and I sauteed up about 4 cloves of garlic with the onion. I also seasoned the soup as it was simmering with McCormick Vegetable Seasoning Paprika and white pepper. Hubby wanted cheese added, but once we tasted the finished product, decided to forgo that and enjoy the wonderful flavour it had already achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Mrozinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
broccoli is abundant around here, so we gave this recipe a go. The recipe is very bland if left as is. Needed fresh celery and fried onion croutons to give it some life. I also chopped a jalapeno into the mix, with fresh cilantro and basil. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Add allspice and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Coles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I added 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp sea salt, and a few shakes of Lawrys seasoning salt. I also added 2 cups of cooked brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Delicious, I added some garlic. Everybody in my family loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Very nice soup. Simple too. My very first attempt at making soup and it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I own a small gourmet food shoppe and even though I usually tweak recipes or do a variation - I do this exactly as written and my customers devour it! I suggest trying it as the author has written it. That said, I have made it both with and without celery (I'm not a celery fan) - both are delicious, trick is to use Fresh celery, old celery has a "woody" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I am a "taste cook" and was looking for a basic recipe that I could use to make and freeze in individual servings to substitute for heavy dinner meals during the steamy hot summer nights(mug-o-soup-broccoli doesn't have to be piping hot to enjoy, just warm and tasty) going to low-carb this one by omitting flour and milk, use the butter to sautee the onion, use more chicken stock & chicken bullion (Knorr large cubes, one at a time until I get that rich flavor), cook the broccoli a little longer, pulse blend instead of puree and then "tighten" it with heavy cream to desired consistency. Add some variety to individual servings by using bacon pieces, shredded cheddar cheese or parm cheese, sprinkling of nutmeg or cinnamon or maybe all of the above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is the first time I've made Broccoli soup. I made it exactly but I did add goat cheese on top!! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States