Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. Even my kids who dislike brocoli always leave their bowl empty and asking for seconds! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peleguazas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
excellent, I added about a 1/4 tsp of fresh ground nutmeg and a large tablespoon of italian herbs (fresh)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I had only about 4 cups of broccoli,leaving all other ingredients the same and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe with a few changes. Added a clove of garlic, and 1 potato because I didn't have enough broccoli. I also cooked it in one pot. Sautéed onion/celery in butter, then added flour, then water/broccoli and cooked. Then added milk at the end. It was awesome!! My 3 kids loved it, and my 18 month old ate 2 bowls and then licked her bowl clean! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
How does this soup have such a high rating with NO salt? It is soooo bland without it. Add salt, and possibly a handful of sharp cheddar cheese to your bowl, and you've got a winner! However, no salt = no flavor. (Only explanation I can think of is I used homemade chicken broth, which I NEVER add salt to. Perhaps the canned stuff is so high in salt already that this tastes good without the salt). I thickened with arrowroot powder as an alternative to white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Delish - I puree half and leave the other half unpureed - that way it's creamy but still has lots of yummy broccoli pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Tried this recipe without any celery but I added the pack of smoked salmon we couldn't finish into the soup towards the end. The salmon added flavor to the soup and my fiancé thought it made the soup tastier and fancier too . He said the soup was fancy just like those from a restaurant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I changed the soup slightly and it became a broccoli cheese soup - increase the chicken broth to 2 cups(2 cans) and add 1+ cups of shredded cheddar cheese to the roux. It was fantastic! JosieMom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Yummy! My 3-year old gave it two thumbs up :) I replaced the milk with heavy cream and used a potato masher to mash the broccoli. I think it would have been a 6 star dish with some bacon. I would have tried it if I had had some in the house...next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I give the original recipe 4 stars. I give MY version 5 stars. Here's what I did: 1. I didn't have celery on hand, but I think it's a good idea. Instead I added about 3 cloves of garlic. (that's just a 'must-have' in a soup. sorry.) 2. My broccoli took 15 minutes to get tender. 3. Instead of blending all the soup, I blended HALF of it and left some broccoli so you can sink your teeth on something. ;) 3. I used 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of skim milk. (You can skip the cream altogether and use milk for it to be less fatty) 4. At the end, it seemed a little bit bland. So I added about a teaspoon of sea salt - in addition to the pepper to taste. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. (No, I'm not crazy.) It really added another dimension to the soup. It is a brilliantly easy recipe, but not as good as my version. ;) (at least to me.) Even the kids gobbled it up. O.O that's when you know a recipe is good - KIDS eating BROCCOLI?! Yup, this is a keeper. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States