Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm giving 5*...however, this is what I feel needs to be altered slightly; I don't use celery (personal preference) I do add a good pinch of oregano & marjoram and it's very important that if you want a good thick soup, make sure your broth doesn't cover the broccoli (just enough broth that the florets still poke out if perfect) also, I double the butter for the cream sauce and use heaping spoons for flour as I want a real rich & thick cream sauce. I add the cream sauce to the broccoli & broth when the broccoli is tender then use an immersion blender because I like the odd chunk. That's it! enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is the best basic soup for all kinds of vegetables, such as broccoli, asparagus, carrot, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I added 2 cups shredded mild cheddar. This is a great recipe. Quick and delicious consistency. Just what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Sauls de Reyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good soup! I added garlic, used frozen broccoli and potato masher to break up the broccoli instead of pureeing. I added sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon at the end to it. My husband and 5 year old ate it all. The 3 year old snubbed it since it had green things in it , but overall great soup and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tgarza
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe was genuinely good! I used 2% milk, and it came out a little less creamy than I would have liked, whole milk would probably give it a bit more flavor. The potato masher instead of a blender was a great idea, it keeps the texture a bit more chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Good recipe. I doubled it. Added 2 cloves garlic, 2 carrots, 8 ounces chopped mushrooms, 1 tbl fresh parsley and 1 tsp tarragon. Cooked down onions, celery and carrots first then added mushrooms, garlic and spices with one cup of broth. In seperate pot cooked down the broccoli in the rest of the broth and added half of that to onion mix and pureed. Using a potatoe masher mashed remaining broccoli and added that. I needed very little white sauce to thicken the soup cooking it this way. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I wanted to get excited about this but just can't. It is just gritty broccoli in a milky base. I too left some chunks out and added them back in after blending. I used half cream in place of the cup of milk. Nothing worked. Where is the salt in this recipe? I even added some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadianGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Tried this today very good I used the potatoes masher instead if blender I like chunky bits I also grated two potatoes to thicken it more I am big on seasoning so I just added my favs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
very good. i used bullion(better than bullion from a jar) and Shettler's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie-Laurie Sheets Jankowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Love this recipe! I rate success on whether or not my husband takes seconds and says he wants it in his lunch the next day and he did both! It was quick and very flavorful. I did add 1 clove of garlic after sautéing the onions but before adding the broccoli topped it off with just a touch of cheese. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States