Best Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Hoping for the best with all the good reviews, but just tasted like meat and ketchup, even after allowing it to sit in crock pot for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
One of my go-to recipes! I got this recipe years ago out of a Crock-Pot cookbook (with slightly different proportions) and it's definitely become one of my family's favorites and one of my party staples. The first time I made them was for my friend's son's first birthday, and they were a huge hit! Everyone loved them. It's amazing how those simply, almost cheap-sounding ingredients can create such a lovely tangy sauce. I serve these for dinner sometimes over rice, or with crusty rolls to make sandwiches. They're also part of our annual Christmas Eve buffet-style dinner. I make it with 1/4 cup of regular milk instead of 2/3 evaporated, and bake the balls for about 20 minutes at 325. For the sauce I use 2 cups ketchup, and I use dark brown sugar rather than light, and mix them right in the crock, no need to use a separate bowl. A touch of soy--maybe a Tbsp or so--is lovely in it as well. None of my measurements are exact at this point, since I've made it so many times, but that's basically it. Then I cook it on Low for 2 hours or so. A great recipe for any occasion. And the leftovers are just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were wonderful! I did add some bread crumbs, just 1/2 cup, because I was worried about them holding their shape. I took them to a family gathering on Christmas Eve and I got compliments from everyone! I also added a little garlic pepper to the sauce because I love that stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
So, you know how you're all looking for the BEST recipe?! And you search all recipes, looking for the easiest, but one that gets your taste buds watering!! Well,this is it!! The compliments you get will be rewarding and it is sooo easy to make!! I added a little of my Garlic Garlic....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Hit of the party. I could not find chillie sauce, so I used the chilli powder andd added more liquids. Hubby couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodyroseak1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tok, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We have been making these meatballs for years and they always disappear. The meat mixture is somewhat sticky so I use a small cookie scoop to form the meatballs. I works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made these X-mas eve and there wasn't a one left. Quick, easy and tasty, the kind of recipe I love, will defintly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I use store bought meatballs (Rosina Italian Style meatballs are the best). I added the mustard seed and Worcestershire sauce to the sauce. Like others have said, play around with the recipe to suit your taste. I also cooked them longer than the recipe said. Be careful not to overcook. I have had several people ask for the recipe. It's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
my grandmother used to make these meatballs. I loved them as a child and have made them over the years for various occasions. I lost the recipe & was very happy to find it here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is a very good recipe that I have made countless times. People always ask for the recipe (which I now know by heart) and I prefer this taste over the traditional "grape jelly" cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashli Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States