Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I prepared just as the recipe states using all pork, and was instantly taken back to my childhood. I haven't had this since growing up in Toledo. I wonder, is this just a regional dish? Not adding to my once a month plan as I try to limit fried foods, but for that once in a while comfort dish, it's excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
OMG I"m from northeastern Ohio too. My parents use to make City Chicken and it is still one of my favorite comfort foods. I have never seen the recipe online before. Thanks for the memories Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
We loved this dish in Buffalo, N.Y., when I was first married, had it often. They used to sell the sticks, round and heavy, to put them on. Delicious, hadn't had them in a long time, at least 20 yrs. When we moved to Baltimore 27 yrs. ago, I brought some sticks down with me, they had never heard of them here. Thanks for the memory hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Wow...haven't had this since I was a kid. Use to be a favorite. We used pork and veal first dredged in flour, then egg, then seasoned bread crumbs. However if you put them on a lightly greased cookie sheet in the oven at 350-375 for about 15 minutes per side, they will brown beautifully and you save a step. We use to call them 'mock chicken legs'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
LOVE THIS!!! I came from Detroit and now live in New York. I grew up eating city chicken. I do use veal and pork, same idea. I was tought to add milk to the bottom of roaster after frying to keep moist. Awsome stuff.... definately comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
One of my all time favorites...grew-up in Detroit and this was a mainstay in my Mom's kitchen. We do not bake them, just continued braising them in the covered frying pan after browning, adding additional liquid as needed. We also sauteed cut onion and celery first and then browned and brasied the skewers along with the veggies. They were not crispy but we liked them that way! We used pork and stew beef which tenderized during the braising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
That is one of my favorite foods also. I had my grandmother teach me how to make it before I left home for the service. Now I find it difficult to find the hardwood skewers. Bamboo is prevalent and and I don't like it because they easily splinter leaving fine splinters in the meat (and sometimes in my fingers). It is great served with mashed potatoes and gravy. Yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My goodness! I haven't thought of these in years. Here in the Chicago area we called them "Mock Chicken Legs". We got them at the butcher already skewered. Guess what's for dinner tonight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Ohio, and my family had these all the time, when my husband and I moved to California I was surprise that they never heard of City Chicken here. It is awesome especially with mashed potatoes and gravy. And to see it on your web site is great. I am going to have to make some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
350 oven usually works for all dishes that are covered in order to finish cooking them slowly without burning. BTW, I haven't had this dish since I was a kid in PA and my next door neighbor made it. My mom never tried to. So glad that I found this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States