Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Wow...haven't had this since I was a kid. Use to be a favorite. We used pork and veal first dredged in flour, then egg, then seasoned bread crumbs. However if you put them on a lightly greased cookie sheet in the oven at 350-375 for about 15 minutes per side, they will brown beautifully and you save a step. We use to call them 'mock chicken legs'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. Couple slight changes: I did a Flour, Egg, Bread crumb dip instead of double bread crumb bc double bread crumb in my experiance just falls off. :) I also used seasoned bread crumbs and added about 1 tbls of Paprika. It gave a beautiful color and body to the flavor. I breaded all my meat first then loaded on skewers this way everything got covered evenly instead of missing some. Soak your skewers for 20 min before loading them up to prevent them from burning. Thank you for recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'm originally from W PA where we did use veal & pork. also substituted crushed ritz crackers for bread crumbs. double dipped with flour, egg the cracker crumbs. placed on rack, used chicken stock in bottom of pan. no need to individually wrap them. cover with foil, bake for 45 min. Sauce in bottom of pan makes great gravy for riced potatoes. I think I'll make this for the weekend. Thanks for the reminder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
LOVE THIS!!! I came from Detroit and now live in New York. I grew up eating city chicken. I do use veal and pork, same idea. I was tought to add milk to the bottom of roaster after frying to keep moist. Awsome stuff.... definately comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Growing up in Pittsburgh, we had this dish often and I still make it. We used pork and veal and plain bread crumbs . . . dipping in milk first, then bread crumbs, eggs and more crumbs. We didn't fry them, just melted half Crisco and half butter in the oven, using a 9x13 glass baking pan . . . about 20 min. per side. 350 electric oven and 335 for gas . . . then drain on papers towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My goodness! I haven't thought of these in years. Here in the Chicago area we called them "Mock Chicken Legs". We got them at the butcher already skewered. Guess what's for dinner tonight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
That is one of my favorite foods also. I had my grandmother teach me how to make it before I left home for the service. Now I find it difficult to find the hardwood skewers. Bamboo is prevalent and and I don't like it because they easily splinter leaving fine splinters in the meat (and sometimes in my fingers). It is great served with mashed potatoes and gravy. Yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have a much lighter version of this recipe that does not use oil and is baked. I have used it since I was married 48 years ago. I first used veal but as it became more scare and expensive I switched to Pork and we like it just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
OMG I"m from northeastern Ohio too. My parents use to make City Chicken and it is still one of my favorite comfort foods. I have never seen the recipe online before. Thanks for the memories Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I prepared just as the recipe states using all pork, and was instantly taken back to my childhood. I haven't had this since growing up in Toledo. I wonder, is this just a regional dish? Not adding to my once a month plan as I try to limit fried foods, but for that once in a while comfort dish, it's excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States