Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Grew up in Michigan...learned from Mom...was thrilled when she said, "oh, you use breadcrumbs" and then learned WE use saltine cracker crumbs. City chicken was to replace REAL expensive chickens(remember "chicken in every pot") political slogan so crackers were even cheaper than breadcrumbs. I just dip in egg wash, then roll in cracker crumbs, s&p, then brown, place in sprayed baking dish, pour drippings(oink) from browning over including the bits of cracker that fall off (if you don't eat them)and cover w/aluminimum foil. Remove foil about 10 min. before done. We were taught "mock chicken" or "veal birds" were ground meat on a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Thanks for bringing back this wonderful memory for a proud daughter of Cleveland. I always assumed the veal and pork were a bridge between my 2 ethnic heritages: Italian and Germanic! Oh, but that veal was still as affordable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I must try this again - As the Chicagoans called them Mock Chicken Legs - We in Minnesota did the same. They are comfort food. Thanks for stirring up great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I'm from upstate New York and this was a special meal my mother would make, adding veal with the pork. One other thing she did was mince garlic and add that along with the salt and pepper. After frying, she baked it with sauerkraut. Now to find some skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Youngstown Ohio and this was served often. So happy to have found this recipe so that I can make it for my grandsons. In my youth, times were tough and we ate a little meat and lots of vegetables. Thank you so much for sharing this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
350 oven usually works for all dishes that are covered in order to finish cooking them slowly without burning. BTW, I haven't had this dish since I was a kid in PA and my next door neighbor made it. My mom never tried to. So glad that I found this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Ohio, and my family had these all the time, when my husband and I moved to California I was surprise that they never heard of City Chicken here. It is awesome especially with mashed potatoes and gravy. And to see it on your web site is great. I am going to have to make some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
That is one of my favorite foods also. I had my grandmother teach me how to make it before I left home for the service. Now I find it difficult to find the hardwood skewers. Bamboo is prevalent and and I don't like it because they easily splinter leaving fine splinters in the meat (and sometimes in my fingers). It is great served with mashed potatoes and gravy. Yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My goodness! I haven't thought of these in years. Here in the Chicago area we called them "Mock Chicken Legs". We got them at the butcher already skewered. Guess what's for dinner tonight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
OMG I"m from northeastern Ohio too. My parents use to make City Chicken and it is still one of my favorite comfort foods. I have never seen the recipe online before. Thanks for the memories Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States