Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in central Ohio and loved this as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Im from central IL & grew up w Mock Chicken legs made with pork/veal cubed on a skewer, rolled in egg & ritz cracker meal. browned in the electric skillet, then mom would open 2 cans Cream of Mushroom soup, diluted and poured over the browned mock chicken legs and cook covered in electric skillet for an hour at 300 degrees. Yes, for me it is a great memory & I have made these for my family on special occasions. Enjoy!!!! My mom was a GREAT cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Northwest Ohio. My mother never made these because I remember going to the store and buying them. As I recall, ours were made with ground meat (probably pork or pork and veal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I'm SO excited that I got this in my email. My grandmother used to make this for me when I was a child. After she died, her recipe was lost. My uncle searched around and only found that it was indeed a regional dish (as someone asked). I'm sending him this recipe!!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My Dad's Aunt used to make this when I was younger and I just asked a few weeks ago if he knew how to make it. I haven't had it in about 25 years! I remember he did say something about cracker crumbs or cornflakes for the coating though. I thawed pork chops for dinner tonight...now I know what I'm making...Awesome!!!! ...and we are from Northern Indiana,so yes,this probably is a regional dish considering the reviews by people from IL ,MI,Oh,and now IN. Thank you very much,I NEEDED this ..haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I am originally from Binghamton, NY, and the City Chicken I grew up knowing and loving came from a little known bar on Glenwood Ave called Sharkey's, which is, arguably, the birthplace of what is regionally known as a spiedie (marinated, skewered chunks of beef, chicken, or pork, grilled and served on buttered Italian bread). I believe the City Chicken they made began as marinated chunks of meat (spiedies) that were skewered, coated in breading, and then fried. I HIGHLY recommend marinating the meat chunks before breading and frying. Awesome comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Crushed Corn flakes w/ parm cheese or crushed Cheez it's are a tasty change too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Ohio too - my family and friends go crazy when I make this! I use Ritz crackers, some italian spices, salt and pepper! The final step is key, the crisper the better!! Good Luck and if you have never had "City Chicken" you better get cookin'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnatempe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in a Polish neighborhood in Dearborn. I don't know if my mom got her recipe from the neighbors, but her recipe called for a slice of onion (a single leaf or two about 1" square) between each piece of pork and veal. Then she breaded them. Then she braised on top of the stove until they were "sticky" done. The onion sort of melted into the ajoining meat and added a sweet braised onion flavor. OK, I'm 10 again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Recipe looks good. I would like to make but I'm against deep frying. Would like an oven baked version (perhaps browning first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States