Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was fun to see this recipe. I grew up in Dallas, TX and my mom made these too (she was never in the mid-west so I guess she found the recipe in a magazine!). I haven't tried these yet, but will soon. Thanks for the great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am from Michigan and my mom used to make this all the time. Now I make it for my kids and we never have left overs LOL The only thing I do different is after browning the meat I put them in a casserole dish with one can of cream of chicken soup and bake for about 30 min, Then you have some gravy for your mashed potatoes . Great comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am from the Minneapolis area and we had these as kids as well. A big treat for Sunday dinner!!!!! I have found the recipe in a cook book here but will use this recipe now. We used both veal and pork as well..cooked in the oven...and called them mock chicken legs. My brother will be thrilled when I send him this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in a Milwaukee WI suburb and we called these mock chicken legs. However, Mom only dredged the pork and veal in seasoned flour, no bread crumbs, and browned them. She simmered them in a gravy made from the drippings. They were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
its one of my all time favorites too! im from northen ohio as well, must be an ohio thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
OMIGOD! I grew up with this as a "special treat" in inner city Pittsburgh. We never had much money, but on flush weeks (like 3-4 times/yr) we had city chicken, and I LOVED it. What a joy to find this recipe in my e-mail! In my house my mom and dad worked, I had 2 aunts and an uncle and 3 little sisters all together in a row house, and we lived with gram who did the cooking. YUMMMMY Thank you so much for a trip down memory lane. Gotta be a blog here somewhere... Thank you SO MUCH Jennifer for reviving a beloved tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in central Ohio and loved this as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Im from central IL & grew up w Mock Chicken legs made with pork/veal cubed on a skewer, rolled in egg & ritz cracker meal. browned in the electric skillet, then mom would open 2 cans Cream of Mushroom soup, diluted and poured over the browned mock chicken legs and cook covered in electric skillet for an hour at 300 degrees. Yes, for me it is a great memory & I have made these for my family on special occasions. Enjoy!!!! My mom was a GREAT cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in Northwest Ohio. My mother never made these because I remember going to the store and buying them. As I recall, ours were made with ground meat (probably pork or pork and veal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I'm SO excited that I got this in my email. My grandmother used to make this for me when I was a child. After she died, her recipe was lost. My uncle searched around and only found that it was indeed a regional dish (as someone asked). I'm sending him this recipe!!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States