Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never made City Chicken before, but this looked good and fairly easy. I was right. I did find that I had plenty of egg and bread crumbs left, so I think halving those will be adequate next time. I also used a previous reviewers suggestion of using chicken stock instead of water, then using that to make a gravy to serve with mashed potatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I grew up in Pittsburgh and make these with pork and veal. I now live in New York and my younger daughter asks for them for her birthday dinner every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I, too, am from NE Ohio and this recipe brought back many wonderful memories and a few chuckles, It's always been hard describing city "chicken" to my friends from other parts of the country. Thanks for the recipe and the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
YUM! Boy did this bring back great memories. My husband is mad at me, that it took soooooo long to make this for dinner. The only thing I'll do different next time, is to only batter it once. Thank you Jennifer for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've tried this method but been disappointed with the dryness/toughness of the final product. Here's a tip I learned from my mother for very tender pieces of meat; after pan frying the breaded skewers, place them on a slotted broiler pan and put a bit of water in the bottom pan (about a cup). Then cover with foil and tightly seal edges so as to keep in steam. Place in a 350 F oven for about 50 min. The meat will be very tender but the breading will still be very good. Not as quite as crispy, but the tenderness of the meat is excellent. A worthy trade off. This also works well with breaded pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was fun to see this recipe. I grew up in Dallas, TX and my mom made these too (she was never in the mid-west so I guess she found the recipe in a magazine!). I haven't tried these yet, but will soon. Thanks for the great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am from Michigan and my mom used to make this all the time. Now I make it for my kids and we never have left overs LOL The only thing I do different is after browning the meat I put them in a casserole dish with one can of cream of chicken soup and bake for about 30 min, Then you have some gravy for your mashed potatoes . Great comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am from the Minneapolis area and we had these as kids as well. A big treat for Sunday dinner!!!!! I have found the recipe in a cook book here but will use this recipe now. We used both veal and pork as well..cooked in the oven...and called them mock chicken legs. My brother will be thrilled when I send him this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in a Milwaukee WI suburb and we called these mock chicken legs. However, Mom only dredged the pork and veal in seasoned flour, no bread crumbs, and browned them. She simmered them in a gravy made from the drippings. They were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
its one of my all time favorites too! im from northen ohio as well, must be an ohio thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States