Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I was just thinking about this over the weekend...so strange I came across it on here. We ate this once a week at my grandma's house in Youngstown, Oh. What a great memory. Maybe with a side of endive and rice krispy treats...it will take me right back to being a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I also grew up in NE Ohio and this was my absolute favorite Sunday dinner at Grandma's house. The only difference was she always did the flour, egg/milk, breading and only once and not twice. I had been making it for years and it never tasted the same until I remembered she always tented the meat with foil and had water steaming below as this recipe mentions. THAT IS KEY. My Grandma always breaded pork chops with it too, my second favorite dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Good recipe only thing I added was some gravy to spoon over the meat and mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I followed this recipe down to every last detail and it turned out yummy and was a big hit with my family. I didn't incorporate any of the other suggestions in the reviews and I was completely satisfied with how it turned out. I found the water in the bottom of the pan to be a little odd but tried it anyway. Next time, I'll try it without and see what the difference is. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
OMG! I'm from the Pittsburgh area but have lived in VA for the last 35+ yrs. I have tried other CC recipes but this one is the closet to my mom's. I think she fried her's in Crisco, I remember everything was done with Crisco. This really brings back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I am from N/E Ohio too and my sister used to make this. But we added garlic to it also. Italian seasoned bread crumbs make it taste better for us too. I love this dinner! Thanks for the recipe Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Discovering this recipe blew me away. Mom made for years, and so did I when I married, but married a southerner. Made it married for him, but I guess thru the years I adapted to souther style cooking . I didn't abandon yankee stuff sompletely, but this one slipped my mind. It's been years. Okay, I listened to some advice and just dredged w/flour, egg w/milk, bread crumbs. One advised to just bake on slightly greased cookie sheet (they are baking now as I speak), I used cooking spray. But, with cookie sheet, you didn't say whether or not to use tin foil. So I didn't, but little unsure cause don't want to dry out, but we'll see. I do remember mom double dipping and yes, did fall off, so didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My Grandmother and Mother always made these. They use to marinate the cube pork with a little olive oil and garlic overnight. This really flavors them. Then what I do the next day is, I dip them in egg white or egg beaters, then flavored bread crumbs, then brown in oil then put on rack in baking dish. I don't eat eggs and these come out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
In the early 60's, I worked in the meat department of a large grocery in Cincinnati. We created "City Chicken" kits using pork and veal cubes packaged with wooden skewers. We also created "Mock City Chicken" by grinding together pork, veal, and beef. I formed 6" "sausages", rolled them in cracker crumbs, and packaged them with wooden skewers. Housewives knew what to do with them at home! Families loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great receipe. My family loved it!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States