Best Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent! Light airy and a little piece of heaven. Serve with whipping cream, berries, dust it with cocoa and powdered sugar, make a nice chocolate glaze, or just cut a piece and enjoy. This will go into our favorites to be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made it, Loved it. Just had to watch the cooking time my stove runs a little hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Mike
Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very good cake, but too much batter for my 10 in. pan. It rose up over the top and by the time it was cooked through the bottom was burned (mostly my inexperience) Not an easy recipe, but I will try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe is not very easy considering this is the first cake I've ever made from scratch. It took a little over 2 hours for me to make. However, it turned out to be absolutely delicious! The outside is a little crunchy but that is probably because I am still getting used to my oven. It is very moist inside the crunchy part though. Definitely going to make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy4You

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Whether you call it a pound cake or a chocolate cake or whatever, this cake is so good. I followed the recipe exactly except for the baking time. I baked it for 1 hour. It probably could have been taken out of the oven a little sooner, but it was still very moist and delicious. It didn't need a topping though I made one with white chocolate using what I had on hand, and it turned out good. My family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Turned out beautiful. I use hershey's special dark cocoa powder and it realy upped the chocolate flavor. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kimberly, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. Very easy. The family loved it. I think adding the whipped egg whites last make the difference in this cake. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The recipe sounded delicious and it smelled so wonderful when it was baking but it was not what I expected at all. I had read the reviews before baking and some people thought it wasn't very chocolatey so I added more cocoa powder. That didn't help. The texture was great, not too dense. but I don't know if I would try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This cake took some time to put together. Came out of the oven smelling really good. Pros: moist, loved the cinnamon. Cons: too sweet, not alot of chocolate taste. Would probably make this again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaSun40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States