Best Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Super Yummy and not too sweet! I only added 1/3 cup Dutch Cocoa powder because I wanted to tint the frosting Tiffany Blue. Came out pretty close too; but the minimal amount of Cocoa powder turned out to be an advantage. It was just right. Very mellow in fact for the very rich cupcake it sat upon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I loved this frosting! No problems with lumps as many stated. I sifted my cocoa before I mixed it with the butter, maybe that was the key. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Queen
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
LOVED IT! This was an awesome frosting, I will definitely be using it again, Thanks! I recommend adding the powdered sugar and milk a little at a time each, until it has the taste and consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this frosting and love it, is easy and works great on cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I absolutely love this frosting. It's creamy and chocolatey. Just what I've been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This frosting had the best taste. I used it for a layer cake and it worked beautifully. The only issue I had was that it was a little clumpy. Next time, I will add the powdered sugar and milk a little at a time to see if that helps. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very chocolatey and rich - sometimes cocoa frostings aren't chocolatey enough but I believe having a whole stick of butter in it takes it over the top! I added hot coffee rather than milk and found I needed to add a little more sugar, maybe a 1/4 cup or so. Topped the cake with toasted pecans and it was divine! This is a full bodied frosting with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
An exceptional frosting recipe - creamy, tasty and very chocolaty. i'd suggest for folks who get the lumps that you not put all the ingredients in at one time but add 1/3 at a time, each with a bit of milk behind it and it will stay creamy creamy without a single lump. And I didn't beat but just kept mixing. Don't sift anything, it's not necessary, but be sure to mix the hot melted butter and cocoa first and then add the sugar and milk slowly. I did make one wee mistake and it turned out for the better - missed putting in the vanilla since it was meant to add afterward - I did half with and half without, and both were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Who knew frosting was so easy to make? Now I do and I will always make my own. I didn't have a problem getting it smooth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States