Best Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very good! The only thing was that the frosting was kind of clumpy. But overall very rich delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Queen
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
LOVED IT! This was an awesome frosting, I will definitely be using it again, Thanks! I recommend adding the powdered sugar and milk a little at a time each, until it has the taste and consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Super Yummy and not too sweet! I only added 1/3 cup Dutch Cocoa powder because I wanted to tint the frosting Tiffany Blue. Came out pretty close too; but the minimal amount of Cocoa powder turned out to be an advantage. It was just right. Very mellow in fact for the very rich cupcake it sat upon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quietlilsis
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very chocolatey, easy to make. I made about 1.5 times the recipe because I had a 3 layer cake to frost and wanted to make sure I had enough to cover it. The consistency was good and spread easily. I would use this recipe again, but may try some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I absolutely love this frosting. It's creamy and chocolatey. Just what I've been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This frosting had the best taste. I used it for a layer cake and it worked beautifully. The only issue I had was that it was a little clumpy. Next time, I will add the powdered sugar and milk a little at a time to see if that helps. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Thought it was good but needs more tast and very clumpy Barley could eat it and it was a bummer on fathers day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very chocolatey and rich - sometimes cocoa frostings aren't chocolatey enough but I believe having a whole stick of butter in it takes it over the top! I added hot coffee rather than milk and found I needed to add a little more sugar, maybe a 1/4 cup or so. Topped the cake with toasted pecans and it was divine! This is a full bodied frosting with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very good recipe. I was looking for a buttercream that was not overly sweet. I changed it just a bit. I softened but did not completely melt the butter. As I saw others mention clumps, I put the sugar and cocoa into a sifter before adding it to the butter. After adding the vanilla, i put a tablespoon of Kahlua into a measuring cup before adding milk to equal 1/3 cup. The frosting has a light mocha flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Marie H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States