Best Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made as directed, and found these cookies the type I have been searching for: crisp, buttery and crumbly texture. I chilled the dough ~45 minutes before baking, and (like another reviewer) they are the first chocolate chip cookie that did not go "flat" on me! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I found this recipe to be a typical chocolate chip cookie. It was greasy and too sweet. But a crisp cookie that was good dunked in milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Nothing special. I didn't find them greesy. I expected flatter cookies. They are crunchy. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These cookies are FABULOUS!!!!!!!!! I loved them as did my children! :) Perfectly crispy edges, wonderfully buttery and chewy center. I would add about 1/2 cup more chocolate chips next time, but so good!! The dough could stand on its own :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Overall, this was a dry cookie. I scaled to 24, used canola oil in place of vegetable and only a handful of crushed walnuts. I ran out of time and had to refrigerate the dough overnight before making. The next day, I let dough come to room temperature before baking. My first tray was 1 1/2" cookies baked for minimal time stated, bottoms came out too brown. Next tray was 2 1/2" cookies and these were better. I placed in an airtight container overnight but no difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are very good and I even baked them a bit too long. I like softer, cakey choc chip cookies, but my husband does not and these are very good. I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 margarine, cut down on the oil to 2/3 C., added 2T of 1/2 and 1/2 and used a combo of semi and milk choc chips. There is a bit of a taste from the cream of tartar in them so I may try using a bit less next time, but I will make these again. If you like a crispier cookie definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Just like everyone else, I'm very particular about my chocolate chip cookies. Frankly, I don't care if they're crispy, chewy or cakey so long as they're delicious and baked properly. The debate will go on forever as to which is "the best" as there are so many good recipes--and this is certainly one of them. I prepared them exactly as the recipe directs, wanting to judge the outcome for myself, and they were perfect. I chilled the dough to firm it a little to avoid spreading, then used a small ice cream scoop and flattened them just slightly--I found they come out of the oven much as they go in. These are perfectly shaped, rounded, beautiful cookies that didn't flatten out--picture perfect. It is not a novel idea to use both oil and butter in cookies, nor is the addition of cream of tartar. These were NOT greasy as some reviewers mentioned, and the cream of tartar gives them a pleasant, light and sandy texture. I don't know if this is "the best" chocolate chip cookie out there(because there will NEVER be one) but these sure are darn good! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
So good that I had 4 yesterday! :) But I made them with egg substitute and splenda baking mix. A little healthier and still great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda  Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I really loved this recipe, there was a great balence of all the flavors. I noticed some of the reviews had a problem with the cookies being greasy. Because I did not have vegetable oil I used corn oil and had no grease what so ever, maybe this helped. I would have to try with veg. oil to compare. I will always use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My family liked them alright for the taste, but in my opinion they were way too greasy... definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States