Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
vERRY eXXCELLENT cOOOKIE! I worked 10 years as a baker and the recipe we used at the bake shop was similar except this recipe didn't call for any cream of tartar, so I added it to my version. I added 1/2 tspn. What it does is make the cookie crack better when baking which gives it a better appeal in appearance as appose to that smooth top looking cookie which I don't like. It doesn't do anything for flavor so if you don't care about whether its smooth or cracked then don't bother with the suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8835 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
If it's even possible, I found a way to make these even better!! I ran out of flour, so I used 2 cups all purpose and 1 cup of ground oatmeal (Put it in the blender until ground fine like flour). The result was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGIEBOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is the perfect chocolate chip cookie!! Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside!! For added flavor I also add l cup of white chocolate chips (try the brand that Aldi's carries...wonderful....better then Nestles!!) Some have stated that their cookies were too cakelike, this is caused by the addition of too much flour. To help prevent this, spoon flour into measuring cup, leveling off with knife, rather then dipping cup into flour. Roll dough into walnut size balls. Be careful not to overbake, I decrease my oven temperature to 325 and bake for l0 minutes. I have tried dozens of chocolate chip cookie recipes over the years, this one is far superior to any of them!! Makes 4 dozen. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3683 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Hi my name is bekah I am 9 years old. I made these cookies by myself and everyone in my family loved them very much. My mom said that she cant make cookies these good! They rose so much and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1886 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Looking over the ingredients list and the measurements of each, I recognized this as your fairly standard, classic chocolate chip cookie recipe--and I expected fairly standard results. I was baking in our second home today, where I have a convection oven (which I remain somewhat unfamiliar with). I don't know if it was the convection oven or something else I'm missing, but these did not turn out to be fairly standard chocolate chip cookies! Rather, they were some of the best I've ever tried. First of all, they stay uniform in shape and size, which is important to me, and they're just the right thickness--not poofy little cakes, and not flat and spread out. They're rich and buttery, with crispy outsides, and a soft but chewey inside. I didn't bother to mix the baking soda in the 2 tsp. hot water, just mixed it in with the flour--I also added 1/2 tsp. salt to heighten flavor. Since 2 tsp. of water was called for that I didn't use, I "upped" the vanilla to a full tablespoon. I also used milk chocolate chips this time around, but that surely can't account for why these were so darn good and so pretty either. I'm so proud of how these turned out and I'll be proud to send them with my husband tomorrow to his meeting. If not "Best Chocolate Chip Cookies," this recipe is certainly ONE of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1676 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These were fantastic cookies, without a doubt. I did lessen the white sugar to 1/2 cup and increase the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups for a richer flavor. I also recommend using Trader Joe's Vanilla Paste, but that's just a preference. However, if you want the perfect cookie, be sure to chill your dough for at least an hour (2 hours is better) and they will come out even. I baked at 325 for about 12 minutes. On Silpat or parchment paper, they'll turn out fabulous every time. I am sending them to work with my fiance to keep me from eating three dozen of them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I've tried a lot of different chocolate chip cookie recipes and this is the best one by far! The only change I've made is to the sugar amounts: 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 1/2 cups brown sugar-I think it makes them chewier. I omit the nuts and in my oven they take about 12 minutes to bake. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
Excellent chocolate chip cookies! I baked them on air-bake/insulated cookie sheets and found they needed to be baked about 16 minutes instead of 10, but they turned out perfect! Huge hit! I substituted cappuccino chips for the chocolate chips, and they were divine! I found the cappuccino chips in the King Arthur Flour catalog and ordered them, then searched for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe to use them in, and I found it! (If you don't have their catalog, their website is BakersCatalogue.com). The cappuccino chips provide a great alternative to the regular chocolate chip that everyone expects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
These chocolate chip cookies were very, very good. I have been trying chocolate chip cookie recipes forever to find the perfect cookie and this one is very close. They weren't too cake-like and they weren't thin and greasy, they were the perfect in-between cookie. That said, the dough is very thick once you mix all the ingredients together. A bit of advice - if you like a thinner cookie and not so cake-like, make a smaller ball of dough and when you place it on the cookie sheet be sure to flatten it quite a bit as the dough doesn't seem to spread when in the oven. If you like thick cookies, just leave them in the ball and they'll stay big. As the recipe states, they are crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside - still nice and moist the following day. I added some Skor toffee bits to the recipe and they turned out amazing - will definitely make again!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Wow these cookies are great! I like many others have been searching and searching for a really good chocolate chip cookie recipe and I finally found it! I am soooo happy. I did change it up a bit, I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 c because I know that more brown sugar makes them softer and vise versa. I also only used 2 1/4 c of flour. I think too much flour takes away from the taste, and left out the nuts. So this is my new recipe. The only other one I will try is the one that includes ground rice crispy cereal, just because I am curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States