Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I made this cake and it turned out so great. I made it for my boyfriend and his 5 roommates and it was gone quickly. I didn't have vinegar so I didn't put that in, but I'm not sure it made that much of a difference. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this cake needs more chocolate and maybe a teaspoon more of vanilla. But the frosting was very good. By the time the middle of the cake was done the sides were really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frogqueen33
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
WoW this cake is great! Other users must of done something wrong in recipe. This cake is moist it does taste like a frosted brownie but with a cake like texture.I love it *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frogqueen33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly but found this cake to be quite heavy (more like a brownie) and it had very little flavor. I gave three stars because the frosting was really good. Instead of milk i used hot strong coffee for mocha frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Your family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The name says it all. This was really the best chocolate cake! The cake turned out perfectly moist and the frosting...absolutely delicious! My dad said it was the best chocolate cake he's tasted! AND the directions were easy to follow! If you want the best, try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Ok this cake was absolutely disgusting!!! All you can taste is the shortening. IT WASN'T EDIBLE!!! However, I gave it one star because the frosting was out of this world. I would recommend using another cake recipe and using the frosting in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My cake turned out awesome! I cant wait to make it again. The frosting was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My family loved this cake! I am making it for the second time for another family dinner tonight. I used unsalted butter, so I added a little salt to the recipe. We thought it was very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was very good! I did not think the overall appearance was very good though. The frosting tasted great, but it looked very thick and was very hard to spread. It was a big hit with my grandparents who came to visit and my family, I just was not as impressed with the looks of it. Thanks for the recipe I'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States