Best Chicken Salad Ever I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I use a 7-oz. pouch of chicken (better texture than the canned stuff), 6 tablespoons of mayonnaise instead of the Miracle Whip, and no raisins. Sometimes no celery, either, if I don't have any. It turns out well; my mom thought so too, when I gave her the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This salad is a no brainer: chop, mix, eat. I've made it with various fruit/nut combinations, my favorite being apple, grapes, dried cranberries, walnuts. I've used light mayo, and also greek yogurt for dressing and both worked well, although I added lemon juice and extra salt and pepper with the yogurt. The salad is always better after it's had a couple of hours to sit in the fridge. It's 4 stars instead of 5 because with canned chicken & relish it tastes a lot like a tuna salad we've been making for years... of course that could be because the canned chicken I buy isn't very chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used mayo and miracle whip as the dressing and this was a fantastic meal!!! I have a feeling I'm always going to keep a bowl of this stuff in my fridge....it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was really pretty good. I didn't use the relish because hubby doesn't like it. I used Kraft Real Mayo instead of "creamy dressing" (its what I have) and walnuts for the nuts. I used chicken breast, boiled and cubed, and a salted/peppered to taste. I topped the final result with freshly ground Italian Blend and it was really tasty. I guess I changed the recipe up a bit I used the basis (adding the apple, nuts, and raisins, and seasoning the rest to taste as I almost always do) and it was really good! I will make this again!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very good. It was a bit dry though and could have used about three times the mayo, but I don't care much for mayo so it was okay for me. It needed a lot more chicken the ratio of meat to nuts and fruit was off. Next time I will only use half the pecans. I could have skipped the relish altogether, it was such a tiny amount and then by the time it was all mixed it just disappeared. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was for what it consisted of. I'm sure I will make this again as it really turned out well overall. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I used leftover chicken from "Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken" on this site. This chicken salad is out of this world with absolutely wonderful flavor! It's so easy my 3 yr old practically made the whole thing!! Thanks for sharing such a simple yet delicious dish! This is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This really was one of the best chicken salads I have ever made. I used leftover roasted chicken instead of the canned. All in all it was DELICIOUS! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Great recipe, it reminds me of living in SoCal and getting the alacarte chicken salad sandwich from the cart that came into the office. I used dried cranberries and raisins but should have used diced grapes, the dried fruits made it a bit too sweet. I chopped cashews instead of pecans or walnuts, and I ran the apple through the chopper to prevent it being too chunky. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
YUMMY!!! USED LEFTOVER CHICKEN AND CRABERRIES,LIGHT SALAD DRESSING TO TASTE.THIS IS TRULY THE "BEST CHICKEN SALAD".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Stormwalker, you and your brother are culinary geniuses! This salad was amazing! And so easily customized to what you have. I subbed slivered almonds for the pecans and added a bit more Miracle Whip. I also doubled all the ingred. except for the almonds/pecans (1 cup sounds like alot). Thanks so much for this awesome recipe, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States