Best Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
To call this salad "the best" is a little ambitious, but it is good, and definitely worth making. I substituted only one of the avocados for a can of artichoke hearts to be a little more health conscious, and used Kraft's Light Done Right Ranch. hint: almost any light dressing loses a lot of its inherent ickiness if tossed in salad and not plopped on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This salad was a surprise hit with my guys, I used grape tomatoes instead of cherry and only 1/4 of a Vidalia onion since a whole one seemed way too much, my husband recommended I also add in a chopped cucumber in addition to the avacado since it is so mild in flavor. I am not a fan of ranch anything, but this was really good, I would recommend it to anyone looking for something different from the usual mayo covered salads you find at cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Boy was this good. I regret not having an avocado. But even without it the pasta salad was fantastic. I added some parmesan cheese and that gave it a nice flavor as well. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made this for a family function and people loved it! They kept asking what was in it -- they could taste the avacado, but couldn't identify it. It was really different and better than regular chicken salad. (I added black olives too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
We loved this pasta salad, but with a few changes. We don't love ranch dressing, so I added some Franks Hot Sauce, pepper and celery salt to the dressing and that tasted great. I also added some garlic powder to the steak sauce so it wouldn't be as sweet. I used a little less onion because a whole one seemed like a lot. I think next time I will toss in a third chicken breast. This is a very tasty recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. My Dad just went wild over it. I used red onions (they're a lot stronger so I used far less than the recipe called for) because Vidalia Onions aren't in season. Although they were adequate in a pinch, I think the sweet onions would compliment the dish a little bit better. I also broiled the chicken rather than grilling it (b/c of the snow), which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This recipe is pretty good although it is VERY ranch dressing tasting. I think I am going to add some other things to it next time as well, maybe some chopped carrots or green onions or something...seems like it was missing a certain flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Good pasta salad! I used four chicken breasts instead of two to make it "husband friendly," Ken's Lite Ranch Dressing, and substituted green bell pepper for the avocado. Next time I will use a different kind of pasta. The flavor of the chicken marinated in the steak sauce was very tasty. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Yum! We had this for dinner and again for lunch the next day/ I added celery for an added crunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Sorry, but I did not like this recipe at all. The A1 marinade didn't go well. The avacados made the salad kind of green and I think it is very bland. This salad was a waste of time and money. Besides my brother no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States