Best Chicken Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
A few tips: The cornflakes should be finely crushed, and measure 2 cups AFTER being crushed. (This is close to 6 cups before crushing.) Also, if you put the sour cream on the chicken and refrigerate for at least an hour, the sour cream will stick to the chicken when you add the cornflakes and bake them. You will NOT need 2 cups sour cream! More like 3/4 cup. I added 1/2 pack Ranch dressing seasoning to sour cream. I also seasoned the cornflakes generously with garlic salt, onion salt and seasoned salt. My chicken breasts were large and cooked in 50 minutes. Longer than that, they probably would have been dry. I also left off the margarine and didn't need it. With these few tweaks, this was a delicious way to prepare chicken! My husband says this is his new favorite chicken dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
My husband, the pickiest eater ever, loved this. I made some changes. I had no corn flakes so I used the new extra crunchy bread crumbs by Progresso. I mixed in about a half of a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix to which I added some garlic powder and pepper. The last few minutes I put the chicken under the broiler to make sure it was crunchy on the outdide. It was tasty, moist and tender and best of all very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I make it quite often, as it is easy. I've found to avoid some of the mess, just place the chicken in the baking dish. Then spoon some sour cream over it and smooth it over. Then sprinkle the crumbs over (I use italian style bread crumbs w/some spices added by me!) and pat down. Flip them and repeat. If you use one hand for your utensil and one for the patting, you can avoid contamination. The chicken is always tender and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent Dish. I made my own modifications. For those who complained about not being very flavorful, this is what i did. I seasoned my thick chicken breasts real well first with Garlic salt, Pepper, Italian seasonings.(Generous amounts) then in a large zip lock bag, i added half sour cream, half ranch dressing, tossed the Chicken in there and marinated overnite. It really brings out the flavor, then i used the shake and bake hot and spicy mix, added my own seasonings to that because i love spicy, So added more Italian seasonings, a little garlic powder, Parmesan cheese, drizzled with butter. I put foil at the bottom of my baking dish, made a difference in the cleanup and browning of the chicken, I agree with someone, 60 min is way too long for this dish, i baked it at 400 for 35 minutes.Let me tell you, it was soo moist and tender, i literally used my fork to cut the chicken, never used a knife. And talk about Flavor. Its worth the extra step of marinating it overnite. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I put the chicken in some sour cream for about a half hour or less before coating it with the corn flake crumbs. I also put ranch seasoning in the sour cream and used a little salt, pepper, and garlic salt in the crumbs. A good way to crush the corn flakes is to put them in a ziploc bag and run a rolling pin over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Wow! I'd give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could. I'm a vegetarian, so I've not tasted this myself, but my 2 1/2 year-old son who has never eaten more than a few bites of any chicken (including nuggets dipped in ketchup) devoured a 1/2 breast! He started eating before we even said the blessing! My husband also really liked it, so it will become one of my staple recipes. I love it because it is easy (I don't have a lot of experience cooking meat so it has to be easy) and it uses ingredients I always have in the house. I followed the suggestion to put dry onion soup mix in the sour cream. I used half of a package for 1 cup of sour cream. I only had 3 chicken breasts (they were large) so I used 1 c. sour cream and had plenty left over. I used 2 cups of cornflakes and had to crush up more. Because I used the soup mix in the sour cream I only added a very little amount of pepper and garlic powder to the cornflakes. The chicken was VERY tender! It was incredibly simple and a big hit with the family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I made this last night and it was so fantastic I'm going to make it regularly. The measurements seemed a little off, so I played that by ear. I just used enough sour cream to coat each piece and I think I used a lot more corn flakes than was called for. I seasoned with garlic powder and added about a 1/4th of a cup of parmesan cheese. For those who say it's too bland, be sure you use enough sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was delicious! Very quick and easy to make. The chicken was real moist on the inside and nice & crunchy on the outside. I made one change by adding dry onion soup mix to the sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Excellent, NO modification necessary. In other words, THIS recipe, as it's written, is delicious. I didn't change anything. If I had, I wouldn't be reviewing THIS recipe, because had I changed something, I would no longer be reviewing THIS recipe. I love it when some idiot says "This recipe was great! I changed 5 things"! What they're really saying is, "Oh, MY version of this recipe was 5 stars"! Well I want to thank YOU for creating this recipe, because I didn't have to change a thing and it turned out wonderfully! We will be eating this once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
very good and EASY! however, I needed more cornflakes than it said - I had decreased the serving number from original recipe but needed more cornflakes than the revised recipe called for. Very tasty - added dry ranch dressing mix to the sour cream - gave it a good flavor. UPDATE - tried this with a whole chicken cut up - put the chicken in a ziploc bag with ranch dressing all day and then coated it like the recipe called for - it was fantastic and not as dry as the boneless breasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States