Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
one star for the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I personally do not like cherries so when my dh asked me to make him a cherry pie I had no idea what the outcome would be. I followed this recipe word for word but without the food coloring. He devoured it!! I thought him and my daughter were going to battle it out for the last piece. Thank you for a simple yet fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The taste of this pie was incredible - but the filling was slightly runny, and forget about using the egg yolk, it basically just made the crust look burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe as is with the exception I used two ten ounce cans of cherries since that is what I had - perhaps that helped with the ones who stated they had too much sugar. I made no adjustments to anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybakes
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Awesome! The filling is perfect. I used 32 oz. of real cherries. I don't even like cherry pie but this one has made my top 10 list of desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used approximately 22 oz. of frozen unsweetened Door County cherries for this pie. I happened to have heavy cream so I used that to glaze the crust and then sprinkled it with sugar. I would recommend turning down the oven temperature to 350 after 10 minutes so that the crust does not get too brown. Its a great pie and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this pie is awesome.. i lost my recipe for cherry pie. this is the same except i don't use the almond extract. this is definetly the best cherry pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RARNDT
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Got rave reviews at our Easter dinner from everyone in the family. I used Pillsbury refrigerated crust as I do not do pastry very well. With the time I saved, I cut out crosses and arranged them around the top in place of lattice. I also used tapioca for the thickener and 2 15 oz. cans of cherries. I think I will grind the tapioca into a finer powder next time as I saw in another recipe. All in all, a great recipe. Will definitely do again. Definitely worth the time to make the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I used 2- 15oz cans and a little bit less than 1 cup sugar and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seximinic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The store only had 15 oz cans of cherries and the other reviews said the original recipe didn't have enough cherries, so I ended up using 2 cans. Because of this I had to alter the amounts of the other ingredients some- 1 1/2 C sugar, 4 T cornstarch (I thought it would result in a better texture than flour), 3 T butter and I reserved 1 1/2 C of the juice (though I had to use part water because there wasn't enough juice). The amount of filling filled my Fiestaware pie plate perfectly. I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled with sugar, then baked for 35 minutes, part of the time covered. The resulting pie is VERY good! The filling tastes great. Definitely 5 stars for flavor. Next time I'm going to either cut back on the amount of retained juice (1 cup) or add another tablespoon of cornstarch because it ended up fairly runny (the filling was thinner after baking for some reason). Also I'm going to try baking at 350 for a longer period because my pie looked done but the bottom crust is rather under done. Great pie anyway with what we think is a perfect balance of sweetness and tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States