Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used approximately 22 oz. of frozen unsweetened Door County cherries for this pie. I happened to have heavy cream so I used that to glaze the crust and then sprinkled it with sugar. I would recommend turning down the oven temperature to 350 after 10 minutes so that the crust does not get too brown. Its a great pie and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this pie is awesome.. i lost my recipe for cherry pie. this is the same except i don't use the almond extract. this is definetly the best cherry pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RARNDT
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Got rave reviews at our Easter dinner from everyone in the family. I used Pillsbury refrigerated crust as I do not do pastry very well. With the time I saved, I cut out crosses and arranged them around the top in place of lattice. I also used tapioca for the thickener and 2 15 oz. cans of cherries. I think I will grind the tapioca into a finer powder next time as I saw in another recipe. All in all, a great recipe. Will definitely do again. Definitely worth the time to make the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I used 2- 15oz cans and a little bit less than 1 cup sugar and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seximinic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The store only had 15 oz cans of cherries and the other reviews said the original recipe didn't have enough cherries, so I ended up using 2 cans. Because of this I had to alter the amounts of the other ingredients some- 1 1/2 C sugar, 4 T cornstarch (I thought it would result in a better texture than flour), 3 T butter and I reserved 1 1/2 C of the juice (though I had to use part water because there wasn't enough juice). The amount of filling filled my Fiestaware pie plate perfectly. I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled with sugar, then baked for 35 minutes, part of the time covered. The resulting pie is VERY good! The filling tastes great. Definitely 5 stars for flavor. Next time I'm going to either cut back on the amount of retained juice (1 cup) or add another tablespoon of cornstarch because it ended up fairly runny (the filling was thinner after baking for some reason). Also I'm going to try baking at 350 for a longer period because my pie looked done but the bottom crust is rather under done. Great pie anyway with what we think is a perfect balance of sweetness and tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good recipe! Follow the other comments about using less sugar. Also I suggest using egg whites instead of egg yolks; it just looked to dark on top. As well just make sure you keep an eye on your temperature and your mixture in the saucepan, depending on the stove top it can cook very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My mother requested "old fashioned cherry pie" for her birthday and this pie was terrific! I followed the advice of others and used corn starch instead of flour, ditched the food coloring, used 2 14 oz. cans of cherries, added cinnamon and nutmeg, and since I could only find tart, not sour cherries, I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used Pillsbury pie crusts and cut the top crust with a pizza cutter, then latticed it, brushed with egg white, and baked at 425 for 15 minutes, then 325 for the rest of the time. It was gone before the day was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Even those who didn't care much for cherry pie loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Just "YUM"... this has got to be one of the 'cherry-est' pies i have ever made; the flavor was astounding! A 'MUST' for any cherry aficianado...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i realized as i was heating the reserved cherry liquid that i was 2/3 of a cup short on sugar! i had already planned to substitute cornstarch for the flour, so i grabbed my powdered sugar and added 1/2 C. to the 1/3 C. granulated sugar already in the liquid. i then added 5 teaspoons of cornstarch for good measure. it thickened beautifully and was the perfect sweetness! i used pillsbury piecrusts and didn't make lattice. i cut out a Christmas tree-shaped hole in the middle to allow steam to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States