Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I found this recipe while I was searching for a cherry pie recipe that would work using the sour cherries I just picked off of my cherry trees today. Boy did I ever pick a winner! I could have gobbled that whole pie up. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My grandmother made this pie every time I begged for it. No canned cherry filling for her or me. Old tried and true recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have used this recipe to make cherry pie for years. But I use 2 cans of cherries. It is delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I always use this recipe for making my cherry pies. There's three sour cherry trees in my front yard and it tastes so good with fresh fruit instead of canned. Now I usually use cornstarch instead of flour and 3/4 cup of sugar. Also, I never had a problem with it not thickening because the first time I made it I had neither flour or cornstarch available, so I threw a little bit of pectin in when simmering on the stovetop, it seems to do the trick and every slice cuts perfectly with nothing falling out. Oh yeah, one more thing, I always brown my crusts a little before adding the filling, it makes sure the bottoms cooked instead of being soggy/uncooked. :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApeEscape
Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was good. Like others, I used cornstarch instead of flour and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still pretty sweet. Next time I'd add a teaspoon or two of lemon juice. It looks really pretty and holds together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this pie and it turned out good. :) I think I need to make it a few more times to perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
What a great pie!! I changed a few things based on others' suggestions. I used corn starch instead of flour, added 1 tbsp of lemon juice to balance out the sweetness, used a whole egg for the egg wash, eliminated the red food coloring (was already red enough), and cooked the pie at 425F for 10 minutes, and the 350F for 25 minutes. The pie turned out fantastic and it's the best cherry pie I've ever had. I would probably double the filling for the next time we make it so that we have a thicker pie, but it still tastes amazing as is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
we never have leftover pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Best cherry pie, ever! However, I did not add any food coloring. I use corn starch instead of flour and the filling stays a gorgeous, translucent red color all on its own. Also, some questioned the high baking temperature, but this is because you are not really baking the pie filling, just baking the crust. The high heat does that quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I found this recipe years ago and tossed all my other cherry pie recipes. No need to continue to search. This is perfection. I have a sweet tooth and used 1 cup of sugar. I'm the cherry pie lover in the family and if no one wants to help me eat it, I just call my neighbor who is only too happy to assist me! Can't say it enough, it's the perfect cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States