Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I used frozen cherries (a blend of two different cherries), reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 3 tbsp of Arrowroot instead of flour. I placed 26 oz of frozen cherries, sugar, Arrowroot and 2.5 tsp of lemon juice in the pot and let it come to a gradual boil. Then I simmered it for five minutes. I forgot the butter but it turned it out great. I baked for 10 minutes at 425 with the edge of the crust covered with foil. I then reduced the temp to 350 and finished baking while keeping the crust covered. Delicious! You could almost reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made exactly as is but doubled recipe because I was using 10 inch pie pan. It fit perfectly. I did not use red food color because I didn't have it so it was a little faded pink red but taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this today. When I bought the cherries, the supermarket was not carrying sour ones, so I bought 2 cans of dark sweet cherries and left out the sugar from the mixture. The mixture also did not have to boil 5min for me, as soon as it started reaching the boiling point it was thick (perhaps because the juice was different in this case). I like the addition of the almond extract. I did not use food coloring (it was dark purple from the cherries anyway). It looked and tasted great. I used it with this crust recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Moms-Pie-Crust-for-a-Double-Crust-Pie/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is a very good cherry pie recipe! It reminds me so much of one my grandma used to make! I did sub corn starch for the flour because it's just something I always do. I would add less sugar next time because mine turned out pretty sweet. Otherwise, it's a great recipe, even better right out of the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this for my brother-in-law's birthday...his favorite pie. He reported that it was very good, not too sweet, not too tart. I used Michigan tart pie cherries that I had frozen when I pitted them back during cherry season in July. I used a quart, which also measured out to a little over 5 cups. To get some juice, I pulverized about 3/4 cup of the cherries and they yielded quite a bit of juice, then made up the difference with water. I used 3 T. tapioca instead of flour because that's what I usually use in fruit pies. I took another reviewers suggestion and also pulverized the tapioca. I found it took longer than 5 minutes to make the filling as I cooked it slowly. Made a homemade crust and created a lattice top for that wow factor! He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I found this recipe while I was searching for a cherry pie recipe that would work using the sour cherries I just picked off of my cherry trees today. Boy did I ever pick a winner! I could have gobbled that whole pie up. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My grandmother made this pie every time I begged for it. No canned cherry filling for her or me. Old tried and true recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have used this recipe to make cherry pie for years. But I use 2 cans of cherries. It is delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I always use this recipe for making my cherry pies. There's three sour cherry trees in my front yard and it tastes so good with fresh fruit instead of canned. Now I usually use cornstarch instead of flour and 3/4 cup of sugar. Also, I never had a problem with it not thickening because the first time I made it I had neither flour or cornstarch available, so I threw a little bit of pectin in when simmering on the stovetop, it seems to do the trick and every slice cuts perfectly with nothing falling out. Oh yeah, one more thing, I always brown my crusts a little before adding the filling, it makes sure the bottoms cooked instead of being soggy/uncooked. :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApeEscape
Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was good. Like others, I used cornstarch instead of flour and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still pretty sweet. Next time I'd add a teaspoon or two of lemon juice. It looks really pretty and holds together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States