Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by littlewestwalker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was soo good! BUT, I had to add some things to make it so good. The recipe as it is, is a bit flavorless and a bit too sweet. The sweetness is just my opinion but to give it more flavor I added lots of cinnamon and freshly grounded nutmeg. Unfortunately, my pie wasn't that good because my crust failed but the filling: YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlewestwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Everyone in my family LOVED the pie (so much my mother actually stole the quarter I have left aside for my cousin). I did cut the sugar to 3/4 as suggested, and added a little bit of nutmeg, because I like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I wasn't thrilled with the taste of the filling. The problem may be that I used canned tart cherries rather than fresh. The filling tasted like cherry pop-tarts and that's not a good thing. I'll try fresh next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shauna Ballard Phillips
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This pie deserves its name! It is not so sweet and it is just perfect on all ingredients! A++++ Don't change a thing..all of my family has asked for me to make this instead of a birthday cake for them! *LOL*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
excellent cherry pie and very simple! I went to MI yesterday and froze alot of cherries but just had to make a pie. I did not have almond flavoring and it did not need it. Very good. I used my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Filling is great, but the recipe needs alterations. Do NOT use egg yolk! Use egg white! This was the ugliest pie I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I am making this for our 31st anniversary dinner dessert tonight and am having to fix it so as not require an emergency trip to the grocery. I used a 24oz jar of tart cherries and the rest of the ingredients as given (I did substituted Splenda for baking as my DH is diabetic)...the filling has the consistency of a roux, and one that's far too sweet at that! To counteract the excess sweetness I have added the juice of 1/2 a fresh lemon, 2 peeled and sliced apples, and 1 tsp. cinnamon and another chunk of butter (to thin out the sauce). I will tell my husband it's "chapple" pie and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This pie is easy to make and tastes wonderful! The only thing I've changed is to cut back a little on the sugar as suggested by other reviewers, and I also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the filling. It came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Family & guests really, really enjoyed this pie. I prefer a cherry pie to be more on the tart side & I thought this was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was good and different. I suppose I'm just used to the canned cherry pie filling, but I did enjoy making it all myself. I could really taste the flour in the filling though. I did cut the sugar to 3/4 cups. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States