Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the method used by my grandmother and mother, two master bakers who lived in the heart of fruit orchard country in West Virginia. Nearly everything I know about baking I learned from them. Last week I went to the orchard to buy some fresh sour cherries to make this pie. It was the best as usual. Fresh cherries are not as readily available as the canned cherries. If you have the chance to get them, tryit. The only difference I made in the recipe was to heat the fresh pitted cherries (4 cupe) on the stove to bring the juices alive. I then added slowly while stirring constantly the sugar, salt and flour which I had blended together. I proceeded as directed in the remainder of the recipe. It was great. I got enough cherrie to freeze for later pies. Sometimes I use corn starch instead of flour as it make a more translucent filling. I also used almond extract, but sometimes use cinnamon or lemon juice. They all create good pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakerton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very nice! Made this for my FIL and he loved it. I did use 2 cans of cherries, as one didn't seem like enough. The only other thing I changed was to cut out pieces of pastry for the top crust instead of latticing it. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I've made this pie several times and it has always turned out really good! I don't think the food coloring is necessary, and as previous commenters have noted, the only change I make is that it should be an egg white, not an egg yolk. Be sure to let it sit for a while before cutting it, otherwise, the filling will run all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great recipe, due to where i live I couldn't find fresh or frozen sour cherries, but did find some dark sweet cherries and the pie turned out really good, my husband was in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber2001
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made this recipe as is and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
So easy to make and my husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very Good...Hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Excellent, with 1/4tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, 2T lemon juice and only 3/4 cup sugar to make a more tart and spicy filling. Much better warm than at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Pie tastes good, but the suggestion of brushing the top with light egg yolk did not turn out well... looked more like a quiche baked top than like a pie should. I recommend brushing the top with egg white to get that pastry glow, instead of egg yolk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States