Best Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This base recipe resulted in an absolutely delicious broccoli cheese soup. I really like two things about this recipe. First, it uses natural cheddar instead of processed cheese. Second, it used a variety of vegetables to add depth of flavour, not only broccoli, but potato, celery, onion and carrot. That said, I did do some things differently from the recipe. Of course, I added salt and pepper. I also added about a teaspoon of thyme (dried) and a large pinch of nutmeg. I cooked the vegetables for longer than 20 minutes to ensure they were tender, and also cooked the flour and butter roux for 1 to 2 minutes to ensure there was no floury taste to the soup. Served with crispy garlic toast for a lovely warming dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for the first time last night. I can honestly say it won't be the last time. It had delicious flavour and was easy to make. I love the fact that this recipe uses real cheddar. One of my new favourite's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was very good! I used a chicken base in place of the bouillon so played w/the amount a bit. Added salt & pepper, to taste. I liked the addition of the potatoes & carrots w/the broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very flavorful. I used this recipe very loosely, but I think the creator had a lot of good ideas. It's an easily modified soup. I used twice as much broccoli, homemade frozen chicken stock, and leftover frozen mashed potatoes (cleaning out the freezer!). I added a few cloves of garlic and added some thyme and celery salt (since I didn't have celery on hand). I know it doesn't seem like followed the recipe but I did follow her directions for preparing the "broccoli stock", the roux, and when to add the cheese. Oh after I made the "broccoli stock" I blended it all up (helps if my daughter can't see individual veggies to pick out). It was very good and I'd make it again, but next time I'd use less cheese or maybe none and just sprinkle on individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Love this recipe. I used Better than bouillon concentrate Instead of regular bouillon and added fresh diced garlic. Such a big hit family wanted it again a couple days later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe and it's really easy to make. I did change a few things to make it better. I added cauliflower and bacon, it took it from great to wow! I also upped the amount of water to 3 quarts, the bouillon to 5 cubes, the cheese to 3 cups and the milk in the rue to a full cup. Don't forget the salt and pepper since its not seasoned at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lickitysplitz
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Delicious! I also added cauliflower and bacon. I made the rue by sautéing the onion in bacon drippings. I omitted the potato and added extra cauliflower and broccoli. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lickitysplitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very flavorful, easy and stocked with vegetables. I didn't measure the vegetables, just eyeballed them, and used homemade chicken stock rather than the bouillon. I liked that this had milk rather than cream. Thanks, Janna for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a grated sweet potato instead of white potato. I also used velveeta and 4oz cream cheese instead of cheddar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Simple and quite tasty. I had some cubes of cheese leftover from a party, so I substituted them for the shredded cheddar (mix of cheddar and pepper jack), and I had vegetable broth on hand so I used that in place of the bouillon and water. It seems like it would be so easy to adapt to other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States