Best Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lisa
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was very good! I used a chicken base in place of the bouillon so played w/the amount a bit. Added salt & pepper, to taste. I liked the addition of the potatoes & carrots w/the broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Love this recipe. I used Better than bouillon concentrate Instead of regular bouillon and added fresh diced garlic. Such a big hit family wanted it again a couple days later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very easy recipe! And it turns out really great everytime - although I make it slightly different every time the base is definitely a great place to start! Most recent additions: I used a beef broth instead of bouillon, just because it's what I had at home but it was just as good. I also added a red pepper and some extra spices of choice, to add to the taste - recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This base recipe resulted in an absolutely delicious broccoli cheese soup. I really like two things about this recipe. First, it uses natural cheddar instead of processed cheese. Second, it used a variety of vegetables to add depth of flavour, not only broccoli, but potato, celery, onion and carrot. That said, I did do some things differently from the recipe. Of course, I added salt and pepper. I also added about a teaspoon of thyme (dried) and a large pinch of nutmeg. I cooked the vegetables for longer than 20 minutes to ensure they were tender, and also cooked the flour and butter roux for 1 to 2 minutes to ensure there was no floury taste to the soup. Served with crispy garlic toast for a lovely warming dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for the first time last night. I can honestly say it won't be the last time. It had delicious flavour and was easy to make. I love the fact that this recipe uses real cheddar. One of my new favourite's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Didn't follow the recipe exactly but it turned out liked a broccoli cheddar soup from Au Bon Pain or Panera Bread! I doubled the recipe. I used two chicken bouillon for the doubled recipe but added seasoning salt, kosher salt, a little paprika and a dash of cumin. Also, used a little less cheddar. Should have added more broccoli. I like broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Such a tasty recipe. I have made it 3 times. I know my husband likes it when he starts chopping vegetables for me. I stuck to the basic recipe without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this was very good. I substituted chicken broth for the bouillon as I did not have the cubes and I prefer chicken broth and added water too. I pureed it a little bit as I like it a little smoother and thicker. Basically, all the components were there and it turned out great. Loved the idea of the carrots and potatoes. It just adds that much depth to the flavor and consistency. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
We used chicken broth rather than the cube. Next time, I will add another 2 cups of broccoli because it really came out as a cream of veggie soup more than a cheesy broccoli soup. However, we did enjoy it and there will be a next time. Thanks Janna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe and it's really easy to make. I did change a few things to make it better. I added cauliflower and bacon, it took it from great to wow! I also upped the amount of water to 3 quarts, the bouillon to 5 cubes, the cheese to 3 cups and the milk in the rue to a full cup. Don't forget the salt and pepper since its not seasoned at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States