Best Cheesecake on Earth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
it wasn't as sweet as usual cheesecake that doesn't use ricotta but it was good. I think I prefer the creamier sweeter new york cheesecakes however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuzu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! This is my go-to holiday cheesecake recipe. I get many compliments from family (they ask me to make it every year for Christmas day). I agree with other reviewers who say that this is not a sweet recipe. However, coming from an Italian family, where we'd make a plain ricotta cheesecake, we are used to a cheesecake that is not very sweet. The cake itself is light and fluffy (not too heavy). I also make a raspberry sauce that can be drizzled over the cake, if anyone wishes. In my experience, however, most people love it plain! If looking for an interesting addition, you could add lemon or orange zest (or orange extract) to the cake batter. I tried this a few times - also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My Family loved this recipe. I added pumpkin and cloves for a little change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Do not bake this cheesecake in hot water! I did and the whole thing was ruined because of a leak, though I followed the instructions to the letter. The water leaked into the pan past the foil and spoiled an afternoon's work. It might be great, but I will never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I don't agree that this cheesecake is grainy at all. It is THE best cheesecake recipe I've EVER tried! I've been using it for years and always get rave reviews. I serve it with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was... alright. I split cooking the batter into 2 seperate dishes - I wanted a traditional in-the-crust cheesecake with this, and then the rest in a small square dish with the water pan. like the recipe says. Everything cooked great and worked - but it's not as "cheesecake" tasting as I was hoping. The texture wasn't as smooth either, even though I had it in the mixer to cream it for awhile. This is a "hmmm" cake. I'll probably look for another one to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
My husband compares every cheesecake now to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet pea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Did not care for the texture of this cheesecake, and it was extremely bland, in fact I would say there was no taste at all . The only thing that would give it flavor would be to slather some type of topping on it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is REAL cheesecake, not the sugary stuff you find too often in restaurants and smothered in cherry pie filling or gobs of fake cream. The ricotta gives it great texture - I mixed the ingredients in the KitchenAid mixer and it was perfect. I did, however, add 1 tablespoon of vanilla and left it in the oven at 150 for an hour instead of turning it off as the recipe suggested. Everyone raved about this dessert. I had a slice at 11 this morning with a strong cup of coffee. Bliss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was a cheesecake recipe my dad always made and loved, rave reviews whenever it is made, I follow the recipe with one small difference-I put the ricotta cheese in my food processor with the metal blade to smooth it all out--awesome. Also, vanilla bean added with some extract does give it more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States