Best Cheesecake on Earth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe is an excellent base recipe for cheesecake. It is a little "gritty/grainy" because of the ricotta cheese; however, it is not as "gritty" as a traditional ricotta cheesecake due to the cream cheese and sour cream. I added a 1/2 cup of sugar, 1T of vanilla and some crystallized ginger. Therefore, it was not even slightly bland. This cake is great to experiment with, and since I like to play with my food I will continue to experiment. Overall, the cake was great. Light, sweet, and flavorful...a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This was another one of the 3 cheesecakes I made for taste-testing. It rated 3rd due to the grainy texture and lack of taste. It did, however, bake up beautifully, no cracks, didn't sink, had a lovely appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Although this is a very easy cheesecake to make and comes out very creamy, it doesn't have much flavor. A 1/2 tsp of vanilla does little. Try adding more vanilla, or adding additional extracts like almond or orange. Maybe even a little liquer. If not, the taste will be flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Wonderful… such an easy and tasty crustless cheesecake! I loved the ricotta flavor. I opted for almond extract versus vanilla, and then served it with fresh strawberries. I did change the baking a bit by using my favorite method for thick creamy cheesecakes: bake at 400 degrees for 20 mins, then 200 degrees for 2 1/2 – 3 hours, next turn the oven off and let the cheesecake cool inside for another couple hours, finally chill overnight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This is a very tasty cheesecake and I agree that tastes even better next day. Even people who don't usually care for cheesecake liked this one. I made topping using 1 cup whipping cream, 2 Tbsp. sugar, 1/2 cup milk, 4 Tbsp. instant pudding (vanilla flavor, next time will try strawberry flavor), just put everything in a bowl and mix till thickens. Then I spread it on the cooled cake and served with halved strawberries around each portion. This goes to my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the GREATEST cheesecake recipe ever! The recipe must be followed to a tee, and it shouldn't be whipped too long with the electric mixer, but if you cook it long enough and bake it in a pan of water, it is restaurant quality!!! Very easy recipe, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I changed this a little. First I made a base from 10 digestives and 6 ginger nuts with 85g/3oz butter in the blender and baked at 150c/300f for 10-15 mins. When mixing, I used the food processor for all the mixing of ingredients and the texture came out rather creamy and delicious. Also, I used an 8inch tray instead of a 10 inch one. This made the cheesecake really deep (SO much batter!) so I left the oven at 150 and cooked an extra 20-30 mins. I served it with chocolate powder sprinkled on top and some single cream. Everyone raved about this cheesecake. The extreme depth went down quite well all round. Even the smallest sliver was still a nice sized piece! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This cheescake is like the canvass to an inspired artist.. The taste of the basic recipe is very even, very smooth and could be considered a little bland, but very inspiring. But that's no reason to not try it. It's an amazing recipie that will inspire you you be creative...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Excellent cheesecake. Wrap the bottom of the pan in foil to waterproof it so it doesn't get waterlogged while baking in the water bath. The texture changes after it gets thoroughly chilled so it tastes better if you wait to eat it until then. Wait overnight if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Is there a crust for this cheesecake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States