Best Cheesecake on Earth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Simple to make, I liked the idea of no crust. Did make a few changes for my taste, though. Used all reduced fat ingredients, and a little lemon juice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
My father would bring home a cheesecake from an Italian bakery that was so light and creamy. This recipe is the closest to the tast of that. I make a similar recipe with 3 packages of cream cheese, but the ricotta makes this one lighter. I added a teaspoon of lemon extract and I lined both the inside and outside of the pan with foil - no water leakage at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I changed this a little. First I made a base from 10 digestives and 6 ginger nuts with 85g/3oz butter in the blender and baked at 150c/300f for 10-15 mins. When mixing, I used the food processor for all the mixing of ingredients and the texture came out rather creamy and delicious. Also, I used an 8inch tray instead of a 10 inch one. This made the cheesecake really deep (SO much batter!) so I left the oven at 150 and cooked an extra 20-30 mins. I served it with chocolate powder sprinkled on top and some single cream. Everyone raved about this cheesecake. The extreme depth went down quite well all round. Even the smallest sliver was still a nice sized piece! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
The water in the baking pan leaked through the foil to the springform pan both times I tried this. It made the cheesecake at the bottom soggy and only the top was right. I had to take the top layer of both and cut them into pieces to make cheesecake squares for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
If you add 2 or 3 ginger mint leaves (cutted up into small pieces), that will be the hit on a summer party afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This cheesecake was good but not the best. I liked that you didn't have to use as much cream cheese and the ricotta definitely gave it a different texure. The taste was a little bit different than what I'm used to - not as creamy cheesey (obviously) but was still good. Would make again if I were in a pinch and didn't have as much cream cheese as is necessary for most other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
To say this is the best cheesecake on earth is definiely an understatement. My granddaughter doesn't like "cheesecake" but she loves this one, It was served to 7 people Friday night and all gave RAVE reviews. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Wonderful… such an easy and tasty crustless cheesecake! I loved the ricotta flavor. I opted for almond extract versus vanilla, and then served it with fresh strawberries. I did change the baking a bit by using my favorite method for thick creamy cheesecakes: bake at 400 degrees for 20 mins, then 200 degrees for 2 1/2 – 3 hours, next turn the oven off and let the cheesecake cool inside for another couple hours, finally chill overnight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I made this cheesecake a few days ago, and I just wasn't very impressed. It was good, but I guess I was expecting more since it got so many great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except I had to make a smaller cheesecake as well since it made so much batter. I used an 8” springform rather than a 10” since I don’t have one, but I had enough batter left over for a two 5” springform pans as well. The cheesecake was a bit grainy, even though I beat it thoroughly; the batter was quite creamy looking when I put it in the pan. I also thought it needed to be sweeter. Topping to with strawberries and strawberry sauce helped, but by itself it would have been too bland. It also cooked up very dark and cracked halfway through baking, but that may be due to the smaller pan size. I probably won’t use this recipe again, or if I do, I’ll add more sugar and probably leave out the ricotta, or just use a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe is an excellent base recipe for cheesecake. It is a little "gritty/grainy" because of the ricotta cheese; however, it is not as "gritty" as a traditional ricotta cheesecake due to the cream cheese and sour cream. I added a 1/2 cup of sugar, 1T of vanilla and some crystallized ginger. Therefore, it was not even slightly bland. This cake is great to experiment with, and since I like to play with my food I will continue to experiment. Overall, the cake was great. Light, sweet, and flavorful...a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States