Best Cheesecake on Earth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This recipe was such a welcomed sight to see. It's hard to find recipes with both Ricotta & cream-cheese. I made a few modifications that really made it work out well for me! I used 1 whole 500g container of ricotta cheese (the fresh soft cheese BARI Brand). I also used 1 & 1/4 cups of sugar. I didn't use a springform pan. Instead I baked it in a greased 14" round cake pan. I lined the bottom with a round cut piece of parchment paper, and I used a graham cracker crust to press into the sides only of the pan. Once it was baked, I refrigerated it overnight, and it unmolded with great ease. I simply flipped it upside down onto a plate, peeled off the parchment paper, and put a moderately thickened cherry topping on it. I was slightly disappointed that it cracked on the top, but that may have been my oven, or because I used less ricotta than the recipe called for. Since I was flipping it over anyway, the crack never became an issue. It was beautiful with the cherry topping, and the sides full of graham cracker. Great recipe to experiment with. Everyone ranted & raved about my cheesecake :-) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is THE BEST! I've made all sorts of variations on it and have always had a great cheesecake. I've made it gluten free by using featherlight mix, I've added raspberry flavorings, I've sprinkled chocolate chips on top after it's done. . . I've made it diabetic for the old people in my family by using Splenda, I've used egg alternatives for the same old people - it always comes out great. The only thing I didn't like was using soy flour instead of all purpose - but everyone else liked it. Also, I've learned you can only make them on one shelf at a time - in other words, if you can fit 3 in one pan on the top shelf go for it, but don't put one on the top shelf and one on the bottom shelf. Both come out mushy and not set at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
The ricotta cheese in the recipe created a gritty consistency. There was little to no favor in the cake and my family hated it! I have to say this is the last time I'll make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this on Thanksgiving for those in my family who don't like fruit pies. Not bad, but not the best on earth. It came out of the oven beautifully -- no cracks, done just right. However, everyone found the filling to be rather bland. Luckily I'd sprinkled some English toffee pieces on top of the crust & made a bittersweet ganache to top it, which made it more enjoyable. Maybe an additional teaspoon of vanilla would have helped the flavor of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
The ricotta makes this grainy. I would never make again. It was edible, but far from the "best cheesecake on earth". Don't waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made this for my birthday party last month and it was a huge hit!! I also had some fresh strawberries and rasberries sliced up (and mixed with sugar to make a syrup), and chocolate sauce on the side so my guests could dress up their cake how they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
the cheese cake itself was good, but the problem is with the water. i've always put a separate dish of water on the other shelf in the oven. i tried it this way, and wrapped it sooo well with foil, but it still leaked. i say stick to the separate dish of water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This cheesecake is awesome. Very light & delicate. Just like the Italian restaurants back home. I mixed instant coffee granules with a bit of water and swirled it through the batter just before placing it in the oven. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I tried this recipe the other day and my family and I really didnt like it.....we didnt even finish it so we had to throw the rest out. It was pretty bland and maybe it was the ricotta or something but it just tasted......funky...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This cheesecake is the answer for a low carb follower. I use sucralose instead of sugar and everyone loves it!! Experiment with almond, walnut or other flours for a different taste. It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States