Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I love this cake! I have made it several times for birthday's and holidays and it has always come out moist and delish! I did change a few changes.. For the oil I did half apple sauce and half melted coconut oil... and for the spices I added a dash more cinnamon, also about a teaspoon each of ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. I also did not add the raisins. And if you want to get really fancy I made maple covered walnuts! But all in all, best carrot cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh For The Love Of Baking!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denmark, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
i only made one tiny change to this (cut the vegetable oil in half and substituted apple sauce for the remainder). it was awesome... i was reluctant to present it to my father who loves carrot cake, but he raved about this version for weeks. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom-nomstheword

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearl
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe many times now, and I always get smiles! I love this recipe, thanks for sharing it truly is the best carrot cake ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe was because my daughter had a about 10 pounds of carrots given to her and 15 pounds of bananas and didn't know what to do with it, so I looked at it and thought, carrot cake and banana bread! So I downloaded this recipe and of course being me changed up a few ingredients, like I used white raisens & craisins, I used walnuts and cashews, Vietnamese cinnamon, I added pure vanilla bean and it turned out great! All my friends love it. I actually made it later - the original recipe that is, it was very good and moist too, but I love my additions. I encourage you to play with the recipe - that's the fun in cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is my first review, but I felt the need to defend Nan's recipe. I was a little afraid to try this after reading some of the negative reviews. I needed to make a Carrot Cake for a birthday at work (we pay the cake forward), and I was attracted to this recipe because it made a large cake. Everyone LOVED it. All I could hear were the ooohs and aaahs. It was moist, but not soggy, as some said. I had to use 9-inch pans, but it was not a problem. As at least one other person said, this is the carrot cake recipe I have been looking for. Thank you, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I LOVE this carrot cake. It truly is one of the best I've ever had. The only thing I did different was soak the raisins in pineapple juice. I think it would have been the best I've ever had, had I taken the time to make frosting, rather than using canned. But I was feeling lazy after grating 6 cups of carrots!!! All that said, I will say, it IS a dense, heavy cake. But that's how carrot cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Everyone loved this cake! Some said it wasn't the best one ever. My vote is one of the best. I did not have any problems with a heavy or pudding like texture. I did read a lot of the reviews and I followed some of their advice. I added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. I kept the soda the same. I squeezed the juice from the pineapple. I put the shredded carrots on a paper towel for a bit before I went on to the sugar adding step. I put in 6tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of each: cloves, nutmeg. 1/4 tsp of ginger (didn't smooth out the top). I used the cream cheese frosting I recipe to put between the layers and top. I had no problems with the bake time. I was surprised when it was ready when it supposed to be since I used 9 inch pans that were really full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was so good! I didn't have any pineapples or raisins, so i experimented and used apples. Your probably thinking "Carrots and apples?!?!" Well everyone in the house loved it! I made it in a bundit cake pan, and coated it with homemade buttercream frosting. To add a little decoration, I dyed the little bit of coconut i had left to a bright orange color, and sprinkled it over the top. Came out wonderful thanks a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittiesRPretty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very yummy recipe. I added some coconut, and microwaved the raisins in a bowl with rum and brown sugar. My son requested carrot cake for his birthday, and I'm so glad I used this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this recipe over the weekend and loved it. Cake was moist, delicious and gone in a day. I made sure to strain the pineapple very very well. When I was ready to use the carrots after adding the sugar, I didn't use all of the remaining liquid. Used my hand to strain the carrots as I added the wet to the dry ingredients. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,061) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States