Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Giving it 4 stars as I made multiple changes after reading the reviews. Drained carrots (grated them large) and pineapple and batter was still very moist. I also used 3 sifted cups of white lilly flour and added 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg, allspice, and ginger as well as 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Left out raisins and used pecans as I don't like walnuts. Baked in three 9 inch pans for about 35 min. Used cream cheese icing (5tblsp butter, 8oz cream cheese, 2 1/2 c. confectioner's sugar, 1tsp vanilla, lemon zest). Cake was DELICIOUS. The 80+ year old matriarch and reigning baker of the family proclaimed it tasted "like a professional had made it."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a MAJOR YUM!. But I did make one change. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used the drained pineapple juice and oil to equal 1 cup. It was almost equal parts. I had 2 nine inch pans so I also made 6 large cup cakes. Next time I'll make 3 thinner 9 inch layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I felt like it was carrot bread more than carrot cake. As is, the recipes lacks. The flavors mingle well together, but the bread like texture was a total turn off, for me at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was by far the 'BEST' cake I ever made! Received tons of compliments VERY moist flavorful and as one guest put it...bakery quality! This should be a 5 star plus!! Thanks Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas gal
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought this cake was VERY tasty. It was rich and decadent...just like a carrot cake should be. YUMMY! Of course the most time consuming part is grating all those darn carrots. Next time, I might look for some pre-grated ones. I dressed it up with pretty decorations and attached a picture. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Definitely a keeper. Don't know if I'd call it the best ever, but it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
cupcakes were very moist specially the one's baked in paper liners , will be making it for special occasions !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anabell
Home Town: San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Best Carrot Cake Ever is an understatement. I love this recipe and cake. It never last in my house it is usually eaten in a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Love this recipe!! Turned it in to cupcakes by reducing the baking time to 18 mins, makes like 33-35 cupcakes. Left out the nuts since they were going to a school building (allergy awareness), and honestly none of the teachers missed them. Many weren't raisin fans either so I cut that amount in half. Even with these changes they were an instant hit that I have been requested to make many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Excellent carrot cake! I made this cake somewhat differently though. I substituted the pineapple for some chopped dates as that is what I had on hand, and it was to die for finished off with cream cheese frosting. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States