Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I "found" this recipe and since it had the most carrots of all the ones I looked at I figured this is the one to make. I had offered to make a carrot cake for a friend so I was taking a chance that this truly is the Best Carrot Cake Ever. It has yet to disappoint. I even made this for a friend that has an allergy to pineapple and I used 1 Cup grated Granny Smith Apples and this cake is still a winner. I love the pineapple and the nuts I think this is the same cake that I used to get at a long closed sandwich shop, people would line up for the cake. I have played with reducing the oil and increasing the carrots or the pineapple and it still turns out great. This is a very dense moist cake so if you are looking for a lighter cake this is not the one you want. but if you want a dense, flavorful no doubt about it being a carrot cake this is the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
this was pretty good.. i agree with other reviewers that this was very dense.. and i even subbed half the oil with applesauce.. i think it could have used some extra spices (nutmeg, allspice, ginger, and/or cloves).. we like spicy though.. i made sure to thoroughly drain the grated carrots and used chunked pineapple that i squeezed the juice out of and chopped up.. i cut the recipe in half and it made 14 good sized muffins.. this was a nice standard carrot cake recipe, but nothing over the top.. so i'd have to disagree with the title.. either way it was still pretty tasty and i'm sure bf will enjoy these.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made this cake for my husband on his birthday and he loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This cake was awesome to say the least. I didn't use raisins because my family doesn't care for them, but it was just as fantastic! I didn't have 10" cake pans so I substituted a bundt pan instead which required a longer cooking time; about an hour. I started checking the cake at about 55 minutes. Then after the cake cooled, I cut it in half horizontally to give myself two layers and frosted it as if it came from two cake pans. This cake will now be a permanent fixture in my recipe box. Don't second guess this recipe.....make it. Be prepared for endless raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This has become my go to carrot cake recipe over the past several years...with a few edits. I always use pecans instead of walnuts as a matter of personal taste. Add the raisins to the carrots and brown sugar and let them sit for a good hour. The raisins plump up, and the carrots aren't overly wet. What liquid is left, I do try to leave in the bowl; it's only a couple of tablespoons. Make sure the pineapple is drained and instead of oil, I use unsweetened applesauce. The cake never turns into a gooey mess, but is perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Admire, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
The batter was extremely watery so I added more flour to it as I was not trusting enough I guess. I did use cake flour instead of regular all purpose flour and I don't know if that would have made a difference or not, but it did turn out very very good with a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Personally, i'm not 100% in love with this cake. I decided to make it because we had 2 full bags of carrots in the fridge and didn't want to waste. My husband loved it saying,.. "this is the kind of cake you would buy at Starbucks",and his sister agreed. I cut the ingredients in half because I wanted to be sure that it tasted good. I still got a lot from that batter and would only recommend making the full recipe amount if you are planning on feeding a lot of people. Otherwise, everything was followed to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniela Luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heide Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a really great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this cake and it was a major hit and I will make it again and again Thank You Allrecipe for sharing( Angela)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Nan, this truly IS the best carrot cake recipe EVER! It is sublime in every way! Ever since my friend made a "from scratch" carrot cake for me the year my son was born, (30 years ago now), carrot cake has been my absolute favorite cake. The heck with chocolate or some fancy torte or well... pretty much anything and everything.. even red velvet! Give me a good carrot cake and a fork and let me at it! My daughter made this recipe for me last year, and I swear, I've never had any better, not even from the fancy Carytown bakery, Jean Jacques! She makes a couple of tweaks to it though! First, she soaks the raisins in rum, she uses fresh pineapple, and she toasts the walnuts. I was in heaven at first bite! Thanks so much Nan! This year my darling daughter is repeating the performance and I am sure that it is now my "birthday tradition." In fact, a friend of mine once said that after 50 you don't have to have birthdays anymore. If it weren't for this carrot cake, I'd take her up on that one! Thanks so much~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanci Strauss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,090) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States