Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This has been my husbands birthday cake every year, the only change I made was to not drain the pineapple, just dump in the whole can. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Bar None, the Best carrot cake recipe ever!!! We don't necessarily like raisins in my family, so I added coconut instead. This really is a no-fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is the only carrot cake I make and that is requested by friends time and time again. The comment usually being......she makes the best carrot cake. Granted I have to cut back on the servings and if someone wants is healthier, i.e. less oil and sugar it still comes out perfectly. Also it is very easy to make and sometimes I do not even ice it.....it is very moist and a little heavy but then carrot cakes are not supposed to be light. Great recipe which I highly recommend. Do not be afraid to makes adjustments (within reason) to personal taste. I would not substitute all applesauce for oil because you are going to not have satisfactory results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
For a gluten free version I used NAMASTE perfect blend flour and a little extra baking soda. It took longer to bake even in a convection oven and using a ceramic baking dish. It made the best gluten free carrot cake I have tasted. Just a little sticky as is common with gluten free flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asmaakw
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very delicious, I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was quite the cake.... I made it for Easter, it was so very good, but wouldn't make it again, unless I was having guests to help eat it, it is a BIG cake. SOOO good, and it kept for almost a week after Easter in a cake carrier in the frig, it just got more moist everyday. We ate every last piece of it, yumm!! The only thing I did different, was not putting in raisins, we don't like them, and next time I make it, I will put a little more of the crushed pineapple, but that is just my personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used this recipe to make my 1st ever carrot cake for my husband's birthday. He wanted me to use his recipe but could not find it so I went ahead with this one. He loved it and so did everyone else. I added more walnuts because I like more nuts. I peeled the carrots (a whole bag) the night before. It took a while. I stored them in a stainless steel bowl covered by a damp towel overnight. I will make again--especially if I'm having a crowd because this made a really big cake. I frosted with cream cheese frosting. (6 oz cream cheese, 2 tablespoons vanilla, 6 oz butter (unsalted) and then added confectioner's sugar until it was the right consistency and tasted right (about 16 oz)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Joy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barkley
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Rave reviews at Easter! It's a lengthy process but an easy one that anyone can follow. And so worth it in the end! Just make sure you have a crowd to share it. This is one BIG cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved this cake! And so did everyone that ate it! Took advice to plump up the raisins in some warm water. Scaled the recipe back to 12 servings and put it in two 8 inch round pans. It was perfect size to slice those in half to have lots of lovely layers of cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I "found" this recipe and since it had the most carrots of all the ones I looked at I figured this is the one to make. I had offered to make a carrot cake for a friend so I was taking a chance that this truly is the Best Carrot Cake Ever. It has yet to disappoint. I even made this for a friend that has an allergy to pineapple and I used 1 Cup grated Granny Smith Apples and this cake is still a winner. I love the pineapple and the nuts I think this is the same cake that I used to get at a long closed sandwich shop, people would line up for the cake. I have played with reducing the oil and increasing the carrots or the pineapple and it still turns out great. This is a very dense moist cake so if you are looking for a lighter cake this is not the one you want. but if you want a dense, flavorful no doubt about it being a carrot cake this is the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,089) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States