Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This cake was awesome to say the least. I didn't use raisins because my family doesn't care for them, but it was just as fantastic! I didn't have 10" cake pans so I substituted a bundt pan instead which required a longer cooking time; about an hour. I started checking the cake at about 55 minutes. Then after the cake cooled, I cut it in half horizontally to give myself two layers and frosted it as if it came from two cake pans. This cake will now be a permanent fixture in my recipe box. Don't second guess this recipe.....make it. Be prepared for endless raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This has become my go to carrot cake recipe over the past several years...with a few edits. I always use pecans instead of walnuts as a matter of personal taste. Add the raisins to the carrots and brown sugar and let them sit for a good hour. The raisins plump up, and the carrots aren't overly wet. What liquid is left, I do try to leave in the bowl; it's only a couple of tablespoons. Make sure the pineapple is drained and instead of oil, I use unsweetened applesauce. The cake never turns into a gooey mess, but is perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Admire, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
The batter was extremely watery so I added more flour to it as I was not trusting enough I guess. I did use cake flour instead of regular all purpose flour and I don't know if that would have made a difference or not, but it did turn out very very good with a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Personally, i'm not 100% in love with this cake. I decided to make it because we had 2 full bags of carrots in the fridge and didn't want to waste. My husband loved it saying,.. "this is the kind of cake you would buy at Starbucks",and his sister agreed. I cut the ingredients in half because I wanted to be sure that it tasted good. I still got a lot from that batter and would only recommend making the full recipe amount if you are planning on feeding a lot of people. Otherwise, everything was followed to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniela Luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heide Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a really great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this cake and it was a major hit and I will make it again and again Thank You Allrecipe for sharing( Angela)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Nan, this truly IS the best carrot cake recipe EVER! It is sublime in every way! Ever since my friend made a "from scratch" carrot cake for me the year my son was born, (30 years ago now), carrot cake has been my absolute favorite cake. The heck with chocolate or some fancy torte or well... pretty much anything and everything.. even red velvet! Give me a good carrot cake and a fork and let me at it! My daughter made this recipe for me last year, and I swear, I've never had any better, not even from the fancy Carytown bakery, Jean Jacques! She makes a couple of tweaks to it though! First, she soaks the raisins in rum, she uses fresh pineapple, and she toasts the walnuts. I was in heaven at first bite! Thanks so much Nan! This year my darling daughter is repeating the performance and I am sure that it is now my "birthday tradition." In fact, a friend of mine once said that after 50 you don't have to have birthdays anymore. If it weren't for this carrot cake, I'd take her up on that one! Thanks so much~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanci Strauss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The very first time I made this recipe was probably close to 7 years ago. When I was searching for a recipe because I had never made carrot cake before, I googled "best carrot cake ever recipe" of course this is the first thing that popped up. It's not a lie, it really is the best. The only thing I have ever done to tweek it, is that after I mix the carrots and brown sugar together I soak my raisins in super hot water mixed half with alcohol. Tonight I am using brandy because it's what I have. Six cups of carrots is a lot to grate by hand with a grater, if you have a food processor I recommend using it. My hubby and I grated carrots until our knuckles bled the first time and after I bought my food processor this is the first thing I made. Cuts prep down significantly, by at least 85%. I've also never rated anything before, so let that say something about this recipe. I want the world to know that it is amaze-balls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
If you follow the first couple reviews changes this makes a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele.v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have made this cake over and over again! It is delicious. Everyone absolutely loves it and raves about it every time I make it. It is tradition now that I make it every Easter. My mother even requested that I make it for her birthday cake. I omit the raisins since I am not a fan, but other then that I stick to the recipe. 5 stars for this cake! I finish it up with my cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States