Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Before I decided to try this cake I read every single review, paying careful attention to those who did not like the cake very much. Though the overwhelming majority, of which I am now a part, liked this cake very much I understand that you learn a lot more about something by learning what people did not like about it. So, after having made the cake I have a few suggestions for those who didn’t like the cake. Most of the complaints where that the cake was too heavy or that it was too moist or “pudding like” A solution to this might be to strain the carrots and pineapple more before adding them in to the cake batter. I know the recipe doesn’t specify but I strained the carrots and the pineapple until they where almost dry and added about 2 – 3 tablespoons of the strained liquid back in. I also hydrated the raisins a bit by letting them sit in a cup of warm water while the carrots sat in the brown sugar. Also I made 3 - 8” rounds instead of the recommended 2 - 10” rounds. This will shorten the bake time to about 30 -45 mins. and may also help solve any underdone cake problems… I thought this cake was very good and well worth the effort. Everyone I have served this to has loved this and I certainly plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2794 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALLAUREY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
2009 edit: Use cheesecloth to strain the carrots! Wrap 1/3 the carrots in a cheesecloth pouch, twist it shut and squeeze. I've finally figured out how to make this moist without sogginess. My family loves carrot cake so I’ve made this recipe many times since I first found it. First, do what you can the night before and store ingredients in ziplock bags/tupperware. Grate the carrots, strain the pineapple, sift the dry ingredients, etc. The only things I added: 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg, allspice, ginger, and cloves, added 1.5x the vanilla and cinnamon, ½ tsp baking POWDER, and the zest of one lemon. I nuked the raisins in equal parts of the drained pineapple juices and rum. The raisins absorbed most of the liquids and were really plump and delicious. Save a few tablespoons to add to the cake. I didn’t want to risk a dry cake so I compromised. I drained the carrots BEFORE I added the brown sugar. After the carrots sit for an hour, there will still be some liquid; add all of it. My cake ended up moist, flavorful, and TALL. Don't over-mix or let your cake sit too long. Baking soda reacts immediately so if you over-mix or leave it around, the gas will escape and your cake will be flat. Use the good pans. Line the bottom of your layer pans with wax paper or parchment paper. Better safe than sorry! To make a bundt, bake at 325 for 75-90 minutes. Use a cream cheese glaze: beat 4oz cream cheese with 2tsp vanilla and 2c powdered sugar. And 1-2tbsp milk/rum to get spreading consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This carrot cake is the absolute best that I have ever made. I had many compliments on this. The cake is large and serves many. It only took 40 minutes to bake. I used my own cream cheese frosting recipe which I think is much better and has a richer flavor. It is as follows 1/4 lb. soft butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 lb. confectioners sugar. Combine butter, cream cheese and vanilla, mix till blended. Add sugar and mix til smooth. Enjoy I do not think you will be dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
It was great! I baked it in a 9 x 13 cake pan at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I got rave reviews on this cake ("you should sell this for $8.00 a slice"), but I did mess with the recipe. First, I scaled the recipe to 12 servings because of the comments about how huge the cake was. I used 2 9" baking pans and it made a pretty regular sized cake. I used about 4 cups grated carrots, which was all of the carrots in the bag I bought and 1/2 cup less than called for. I replaced half of the oil with apple sauce and I replaced half of the pineapple with apple sauce. I also used wheat flour for a little less than 1/2 of the flour. I left out the raisins and I added about a tsp each of nutmeg, allspice, ginger and dried orange rind. I also doubled the cinnamon. For the frosting I used 1/4 lb butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 2 tsp vanilla and 1 lb sifted conf sugar. Should probably have refrigerated it to let it set more before I transported it because it got a little slippy but not disastrous. I took it to a 4 person dinner party and brought leftovers to work. People could not get enough. I was pretty happy since I not only never made carrot cake before, I had never eaten it so I wasn't sure how it should taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
My husband said this was the best carrot cake he has ever had!! It was extremely moist and delicious. Here is a little tip: I bought a five pound bag of carrots because I had no idea how many carrots I needed for 6 cups grated. It averages out to about 10 carrots, if that many. Overall, this was an excellent cake and a keeper in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is the carrot cake recipe I have been searching for. I made the recipe exactly how it was written, and I was able to make 12 cupcakes (35min. at 350degrees), and one 9inch cake (50min.). Thank you Nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Wow, this was fabulous! I read a lot of reviews first to see if there were any changes I should make. This is what I did. 1. Used a 13x9x2 glass casserole dish and baked for 55min. 2.Only used 1/2 c. oil along with 1/2 applesauce. -terrific advice!!! 3. Used 5 c. carrots (I used my food processor)4.Added lots of Allspice and nutmeg. I think I added about 1/2 cup extra of flour because the batter looked a little too runny. The end result to this recipe was MMMMMMmmmmmmm!!It truly lives up to it's name. "Best Carrot Cake Ever"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ball Ground, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I just have to say I initially signed up to review this recipe! It really is the best carrot cake ever! I made this cake on a Sunday afternoon and it was gone by Tuesday morning! Everyone loved it!! The only things i did differently was i strained the carrots before putting it with the brown sugar also i strained all the juice from the pineapple reserving about 3 tbs for the cake mix! I also hydrated the raisins in warm water for about 45mins. I made a lemon cream cheese for the middle and topping and decorated with chopped walnuts and bits of lemon zest! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clitheroe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Great cake! I have gotten so many compliments on this cake. Very dense and stays moist for days after cutting (Providing I ever have any left) Try this variation. Add 1C drained manderin oranges in place of pineapple and 1C grated coconut in place of walnuts. Yum Yum. My family loves it either way. It's always requested at every carry in dinner for work, church, or family reunions. The name says it all! BEST CARROT CAKE EVER! And a hint on the carrots...By hand takes forever, The food processor takes a while too. So I buy the already shredded carrots and toss them in the food processor for a few spins. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,035) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States