Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe was because my daughter had a about 10 pounds of carrots given to her and 15 pounds of bananas and didn't know what to do with it, so I looked at it and thought, carrot cake and banana bread! So I downloaded this recipe and of course being me changed up a few ingredients, like I used white raisens & craisins, I used walnuts and cashews, Vietnamese cinnamon, I added pure vanilla bean and it turned out great! All my friends love it. I actually made it later - the original recipe that is, it was very good and moist too, but I love my additions. I encourage you to play with the recipe - that's the fun in cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is my first review, but I felt the need to defend Nan's recipe. I was a little afraid to try this after reading some of the negative reviews. I needed to make a Carrot Cake for a birthday at work (we pay the cake forward), and I was attracted to this recipe because it made a large cake. Everyone LOVED it. All I could hear were the ooohs and aaahs. It was moist, but not soggy, as some said. I had to use 9-inch pans, but it was not a problem. As at least one other person said, this is the carrot cake recipe I have been looking for. Thank you, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I LOVE this carrot cake. It truly is one of the best I've ever had. The only thing I did different was soak the raisins in pineapple juice. I think it would have been the best I've ever had, had I taken the time to make frosting, rather than using canned. But I was feeling lazy after grating 6 cups of carrots!!! All that said, I will say, it IS a dense, heavy cake. But that's how carrot cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Everyone loved this cake! Some said it wasn't the best one ever. My vote is one of the best. I did not have any problems with a heavy or pudding like texture. I did read a lot of the reviews and I followed some of their advice. I added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. I kept the soda the same. I squeezed the juice from the pineapple. I put the shredded carrots on a paper towel for a bit before I went on to the sugar adding step. I put in 6tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of each: cloves, nutmeg. 1/4 tsp of ginger (didn't smooth out the top). I used the cream cheese frosting I recipe to put between the layers and top. I had no problems with the bake time. I was surprised when it was ready when it supposed to be since I used 9 inch pans that were really full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was so good! I didn't have any pineapples or raisins, so i experimented and used apples. Your probably thinking "Carrots and apples?!?!" Well everyone in the house loved it! I made it in a bundit cake pan, and coated it with homemade buttercream frosting. To add a little decoration, I dyed the little bit of coconut i had left to a bright orange color, and sprinkled it over the top. Came out wonderful thanks a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittiesRPretty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very yummy recipe. I added some coconut, and microwaved the raisins in a bowl with rum and brown sugar. My son requested carrot cake for his birthday, and I'm so glad I used this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this recipe over the weekend and loved it. Cake was moist, delicious and gone in a day. I made sure to strain the pineapple very very well. When I was ready to use the carrots after adding the sugar, I didn't use all of the remaining liquid. Used my hand to strain the carrots as I added the wet to the dry ingredients. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooklover
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have tried to baked this recipe, in my 2nd time of baking i made it perfect, my Husband liked it so much he even brought it with him to share with his colleague... tnx a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was undoubtedly the very best carrot cake I have ever eaten. My granddaughter and I baked this for a family birthday gathering and EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made this for my husband today and it turned out wonderfully! I followed the recipe word for word and didn't have any problems with the cake being too mushy/heavy/dense or it falling in the center like other reviewers. I don’t remember ever liking carrot cake, so this was the first I have made in a LONG time, and it is the first one I remember actually enjoying. This was great by itself (as I munched on the scraps I trimmed off) and it is also great paired with the Cream Cheese Frosting II, also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,048) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States