Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I cooked a butt roast with apple cider vinegar all day in the crockpot, and used this sauce on top. It was SO good. Yes, I did a couple of alterations. Used spicy brown mustard and didn't use liquid smoke. I also didn't let it marinate overnight. No matter, it was perfect. Just the right amount of spice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My family and I love this bbq sauce. Its great on chicken or pork. It is a little spicy, but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Freakin Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnalynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I was thinking about how to use up a pork should roast and thought "pulled pork sandwiches" sounded good, but it is not possible to find "real" Carolina BBQ sauce in California... Certain that AllRecipes would have something, I came across this recipe! Make me think of the very first pulled pork sandwich I ever had more than 50 years ago in Charlotte, NC. Since I share the house with a bunch of Yankees, I did leave out the cayenne. This is the real deal! Thanks, Tripper, great recipe!!! Unfortunately, there is absolutely no way this would ever last a couple of weeks in the 'frig...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mine came out a little too runny. Great Carolina flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A very good sauce. If I make it again I will reduce the amount of pepper slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING. I didn't have any liquid smoke, and I took some other reviewers' advice and only added 3/4 cup yellow mustard.. Perfect!! I will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoupySunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a fantastic sauce! I used it to season my pulled pork bbq. The only modification I made was to lessen the mustard by half (I used spicy brown mustard since that was all I had on hand), as some other reviewers suggested, and added a touch more vinegar and a pinch of red pepper flakes. It was a hit at our poker game and will from now on be my staple sauce for pulled pork. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
instead of brown sugar ,try 1 1/2 cupsof molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is by far the best recipe I have found for a pulled pork sauce that tastes like a genuine South Carolina sauce. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States